<?xml version="1.0"?>
<feed xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xml:lang="en">
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/api.php?action=feedcontributions&amp;feedformat=atom&amp;user=Page+upgrade</id>
		<title>Mallala - User contributions [en]</title>
		<link rel="self" type="application/atom+xml" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/api.php?action=feedcontributions&amp;feedformat=atom&amp;user=Page+upgrade"/>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/Special:Contributions/Page_upgrade"/>
		<updated>2026-08-24T09:55:09Z</updated>
		<subtitle>User contributions</subtitle>
		<generator>MediaWiki 1.24.2</generator>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Writing_slope&amp;diff=4592</id>
		<title>Writing slope</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Writing_slope&amp;diff=4592"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:30:37Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Personal&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=Writing desk&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=c. 1900&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Barabba school&lt;br /&gt;
|Place found=Barabba&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Letter writing&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
== Description  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The item is timber and box shaped measuring 26.5cm x 19cm x 9cm. On the lid, prettily decorated with roses, there is a large scroll with the words 'Writing Desk'. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When opened the extension enables a sloped velvet-covered writing surface to come into use. The interior contains an ink bottle and pen compartment. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Writing boxes became popular with the development of paper and the improvement of writing materials. An organised postal system that introduced mail coaches and set up the post offices in settlements stimulated written communication. In 1911, when penny postage was introduced throughout the Empire, letter writing was more affordable for the average person. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The writing slope was a personal item belonging to Amelia White who was Headteacher at the [[Barabba School]]. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Amelia White was accompanied by her mother Mrs White and her sister Miss Emily White when she was tranferred from Watts Range School to her appointment at Barabba. Miss White lived in the school house and was postmistress as well, conducting the Post Office duties from the pantry of the schoolhouse.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
For 28 years Amelia White encouraged and prepared the pupils at the [[Barabba School]] for many events and activities that were celebrated as part of the community life in the area. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Barabba School&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3851217551,3851219799,3855375122,3857465605,3864470526&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Zivic_Stencil&amp;diff=4591</id>
		<title>Zivic Stencil</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Zivic_Stencil&amp;diff=4591"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:29:38Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Farming&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=1950s&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Labelling packed cases of tomatoes&lt;br /&gt;
|Ceased use=1980s&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
== ==&lt;br /&gt;
At the rear of the allotments 2 Joseph Street Mallala, Zivojin 'George' Zivic planted and cultivated tomatoes and cucumbers in seven glass houses. The produce was put into half sized packing cases, which had been labelled with the application of the stencil, to be transported interstate and throughout the local area. The Railway Station at Mallala provided a convenient and efficient means of transport to the markets in Victoria. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the 1980s ill health caused George to cease his business but he continued to maintain one glass house for production of his tomatoes and cucumbers. This was for personal use and a supply for his friends. George continued to raise his plants and for those of his friends who were gardening enthusiasts and who appreciated his generosity when they received a supply of seedlings. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
George had emigrated from Yugoslavia, Europe in 1950, and settled in Mallala. In 1952 he married Valda Coleman, a local girl, and built a home and they raised a family of two children. In 1996 George and Valda moved to Gawler to a retirement village and here he continued growing tomatoes but pots not glass houses were used. Then George's ill health meant a move back to Mallala to reside in 'Butler View' and the Mallala Hospital where George died in 2006. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Description: &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It is a piece of metal 22.80cm X 19.00cm with the letters as cutouts &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum ,Myra Pontt. (Myra is the daughter of George and Valda.)&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3845413108,3852018050,3844845787,3845635512,3844843899&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Wedding_dress&amp;diff=4590</id>
		<title>Wedding dress</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Wedding_dress&amp;diff=4590"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:27:52Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Personal&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=World War One Wedding Gown&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=1917&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Methodist Church, Owen, SA&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=The marriage of Christina Grace Roberts to James David Dow&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
On 30 October 1917 when Christina Grace Roberts married James David Dow at the Owen Methodist Church she wore this wedding dress. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The bride travelled from her home at Barabba to the Owen Church by horse and buggy. On the rough dusty journey the beautiful wedding gown was protected with a dustcoat which had been made for the occasion. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Christina's sister Elsie was in attendance as her bridesmaid. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
At the conclusion of the festivities, in Owen, the happy couple boarded the train to travel to Victor Harbour for the honeymoon. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The couple settled at&amp;amp;nbsp;'Warculta', Barabba. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Description: &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The ivory moire silk wedding dress comprised of a skirt and jacket with military styling evident in the epaulettes on the shoulder, sleeves and a belt at the waist. The lace jabot and the pearl buttons gave a feminine touch. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The dust coat was made of moire silk with a large collar and decorative top-stitching in a contrast colour. It featured large covered buttons, two generous pockets and an attached belt. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Daughter, Mavis Dow&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3858754978,3857964707,&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Stereoscope&amp;diff=4589</id>
		<title>Stereoscope</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Stereoscope&amp;diff=4589"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:27:03Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Domestic&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=Stereoscope&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=In the home&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The stereoscope is a device which is used for viewing the printed images on the stereograph cards. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The stereograph card features two photographs positioned side by side at about two and a half inches apart-- one for the left eye and one for the right. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When the card is fixed into place in the stereroscope and when the two flat images on the card are looked at they are recognised as a single image with the illusion of depth. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1838 it was Charles Wheatstone who published a paper that provided the scientific basis for stereography and his early cards featured drawings not photographs. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
At the Great Exhibition in 1851 the concept of stereographs was introduced to the public.The praise from Queen Victoria and the great interest shown by the visitors provided inspiration for the London Stereoscopic Company to develop the means for mass production of the stereographs. Between 1854-1856 over half a million stereographs were sold by the company. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In America the doctor and writer Oliver Wendell Holmes invented a hand held device for viewing stereographs.Ulitimately the designs for the stereoscope ranged from the small handheld item to a large piece of furniture that could give a changing display of up to a hundred stereographs. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
From 1840-1920 the stereoscopes, which feature in the photographs on this page, created a form of entertainment at home and the users became armchair tourists. Many of the cards were images of scenes and buildings which had been captured by photographers travelling the world.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
With the development of photography &amp;quot;moving pictures &amp;quot;became the feature of entertainment and this took the public out of the home to halls and picture theatres. The stereoscopes and stereographs were casualties to changing technology. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Mallala Museum is pleased families of the district donated the items and the public can reflect. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=A Brief History of Stereographs and Stereoscopes by Lisa Spiro&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4816381669,4817006584,4816385691,4816387425&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Rotunda_at_the_Mallala_Museum&amp;diff=4588</id>
		<title>Rotunda at the Mallala Museum</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Rotunda_at_the_Mallala_Museum&amp;diff=4588"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:24:55Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Personal&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Rotunda was initially used as a shelter for the Mallala Croquet Club, which was located in what is now the Children’s Playground at the Mallala Oval Complex. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''&amp;amp;nbsp;'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
We believe the club closed during the early years of World War Two. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the mid 1940’s the Mallala Bowling Club was formed and the Rotunda was later donated to the Bowling Club for its members to use &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the year 2000, the structure was donated to the Mallala Historical Society and repositioned to the Mallala Museum to preserve its heritage. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4795886874,4795289825&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Penny_Farthing_Bicycle&amp;diff=4587</id>
		<title>Penny Farthing Bicycle</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Penny_Farthing_Bicycle&amp;diff=4587"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:24:08Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Personal&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=High Wheel&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=1880s&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place made=Made in England&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Mallala South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Place found=Purchased from former owner&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=John Martins Christmas Pageant Adelaide S.A.&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1870&amp;amp;nbsp; an Englishman James Starley improved on the French &amp;quot;boneshaker&amp;quot; and produced the Penny Farthing Bicycle - so called as it resembled the side view of&amp;amp;nbsp;a larger British penny&amp;amp;nbsp;followed by a small&amp;amp;nbsp;farthing coin.&amp;amp;nbsp;James Starley became known as&amp;amp;nbsp;the father of the bicycle industry. Others began producing the bicycles with front wheels at an ever increasing size &amp;lt;br&amp;gt;The larger front wheel of up to 60 inches (1.5 m) enabled higher speeds on bicycles limited to direct drive.&amp;amp;nbsp; By the&amp;amp;nbsp;late 1890s&amp;amp;nbsp;the &amp;quot;safety&amp;quot; bicycle was beginning to emerge and heralded the decline of the Penny Farthing. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Penny Farthing &amp;amp;nbsp;bicycle on display at the Mallala Museum &amp;amp;nbsp;was purchased by Samuel Temby for use by the family. His son Harold Temby became adept at riding the bicycle and was regularly seen riding along Temby Road to Middle Beach. (Probably&amp;amp;nbsp;only a dirt track) &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Years later Harold moved to live in a cottage on the corner of&amp;amp;nbsp;Aerodrome Road and Joseph Street&amp;amp;nbsp;Mallala&amp;amp;nbsp;and he rode the bicycle at times around the town of Mallala. Harold &amp;amp;nbsp;purchased a conventional two wheeler and the Penny Farthing was confined to the back shed where it gathered dust for many years. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1950 a relative persuaded Harold to&amp;amp;nbsp;sell him the bicycle and so Lance Tiller became the proud owner.&amp;amp;nbsp; Many months were spent in practicing his skills on the Penny Farthing until he felt confident to apply to participate in the John Martins Christmas Pageant held in Adelaide South Australia each year.&amp;amp;nbsp; Thus began Lance's long association with the pageant in which he rode for 40 consecutive&amp;amp;nbsp;years.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Lance Tiller offered the bicycle to the Mallala Museum - the district in which it first was ridden. The Mallala Museum purchased the bicycle in the year 2001 with a Premier's grant plus some other generous donations. The bicycle was restored to its original colour of black and minor repairs completed. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Mallala Museum is delighted to have this Penny Farthing bicycle as an exhibit. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Mallala Museum records.,Facts on the invention of the Penny Farthing bicycle from Wikipedia.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=6055451501,6058303579,6058317381&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Mallala_Institute_Projectors&amp;diff=4586</id>
		<title>Mallala Institute Projectors</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Mallala_Institute_Projectors&amp;diff=4586"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:22:26Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Business&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=c. 1920&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Mallala Institute&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Silent and sound movie projection&lt;br /&gt;
|Ceased use=1965&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the early days of the Mallala Picture Theatre, the business was owned and run by East Bros in the [[Mallala Institute]]. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The screen was at the front entrance to the hall. The stage area was the dress circle, and as the East family was fairly prolific, had most of the seats there on sparrow’s tickets, whilst the general public sat at floor level. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
During the early 1940s 'Premier Talkies' of Riverton commenced the showing of pictures at the [[Mallala Institute]]. Mr Len Mullins was the projectionist, who with his assistant and a small panel van travelled the country areas and presented their film programmes on a weekly basis. Their equipment was portable, and each week, usually on a Friday, they would arrive mid morning and set up their projectors and sound system for the evening screening. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1946 these projectors, which showed standard 35mm feature films, were installed in the projection room at the Institute and were used for showing the films on Saturday night until the closure of picture nights. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The projectors were manufactured in the 1920s to show 'silent films'. With the advent of 'sound films' in the late 1920s, the projectors were modified to run at a greater speed (from 16 frames per second to 24 frames per second). Sound heads were also fitted to pick up the sound from the film sound tracks as well as an amplifier and loud speaker. At the back of both projectors are lamp houses in which carbon rods were electrified to produce a very bright light that is required to show films onto the large screen. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The two projectors were necessary when showing feature films. Each reel would take only 20mins and as there could be 5-7 reels in a feature, an uninterrupted switch meant going from one projector to the other. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The procedure required skill so that the audience would not notice the swapover.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
During the mid 1950s, the Institute took over the running of the pictures and the projection equipment was purchased by the Institute Committee. The projection room floor had to be cemented and a separate film rewind and storage area built to comply with regulations. A new cinemascope screen was installed, together with movable black surrounds so that varying picture formats could be screened. The projection equipment was assembled and fitted with new cinemascope lenses to enable the flood of Cinemascope films to be screened. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Picture shows continued well into the 1960s, but soon, with the advent of Television, there was a gradual decline in audiences. Instead of weekly shows they became fortnightly, and then monthly, until the situation became uneconomical for the film nights to continue. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Mallala Institute,Two Wells-Port Gawler Institute,Two Wells Institute,Windsor Institute&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum notes (from Jim East)&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3839306991,6064749663&lt;br /&gt;
|YouTubeID=NnxuJdr1F_A&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Hooded_Abbott_Buggy&amp;diff=4585</id>
		<title>Hooded Abbott Buggy</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Hooded_Abbott_Buggy&amp;diff=4585"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:20:53Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Domestic&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=1900&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place made=Adelaide, South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Mallala, South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Ceased use=1956&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
The Buggy was owned by the Pratt family of Korunye South Australia (formerly known as Paddys Bridge). John Pratt was an 'Old Colonist' who had arrived in the Lower Light area c. 1860 to purchase land. His grandson William Pratt and his wife Margaret (nee Frost) are well remembered driving to the Lower Light Methodist Church for Sunday Services and other local activities. Their grand daughter Margaret remembers that as a small child she was taken to Sunday School at Lower Light in the buggy. Mrs Pratt always wore a distinctive cloth hat. Mr William Pratt used the buggy regularly, and one important event was the monthly trip to Gawler to procure a supply of bran for his pigs and ducks. The buggy continued to be used by William almost up until the time of his death in 1956. The buggy had a forward facing seat for two or three people. During wet weather the hood could be fully closed on three sides. On a mild day the middle back could be rolled up, and on a very hot day the sides could be removed or the hood completely lowered. The timber wheels had solid rubber rims. The wheels were dish shaped and set so they are angled away from the vehicle at the top, to enable centrifugal force to throw dust, mud etc away from the passengers, who were also covered with a waterproof, wool lined lap rug to keep them clean and warm. A light horse or pony was used for the purpose of pulling the buggy and a nosebag of chaff was always on board for the sustenance of the horse when they reached their destination. A lamp was set in a bracket on each side. A sloping back compartment with hinged flap opened up to store luggage or goods. The buggy was donated to the Mallala Museum by Mr Ernest Pratt of Korunye, South Australia, the son of William and Margaret Pratt. It was in poor condition and in 1999 was restored by Dennis Nation and John Dickson (both of Mallala) assisted by members and friends of the Mallala Museum Committee. The buggy is now a valued exhibit at the Mallala Museum. &amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum Research Notes&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3851216083,3838621239&lt;br /&gt;
|YouTubeID=8dkE5zPq4cQ&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Hand_embroidered_silk_postcards&amp;diff=4584</id>
		<title>Hand embroidered silk postcards</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Hand_embroidered_silk_postcards&amp;diff=4584"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:19:31Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Personal&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=World War I silk postcards&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=c. 1915&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place made=France, Belgium&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Keepsakes during war&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
During WW1 silk postcards and handkerchiefs were popular purchases as souvenirs for Australian soldiers who were serving on the Western Front. Local French and Belgian women embroidered the different motifs onto strips of silk mesh with as many as 25 individual pieces of embroidery. The completed strips were sent to factories for cutting and mounting on postcards. There were two kinds of cards, one was a piece of embroidered silk mounted onto a card and the other was two pieces of silk sewn and mounted to form a pocket to contain a message or a silk handkerchief. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
2512 Lance Corporal Clifford Stanley Clem Pethick served in the Australian Infantry Force in the 27th Battalion. He embarked on the 'Commonwealth' and sailed from Sydney on 19 September 1916 and disembarked at Plymouth on 4 November 1916. He left behind, in Aldinga South Australia, a wife Valeska Asenath Pethick and a daughter Audrey. While in France and Belgium the postcards were available as items for sale in regimental canteens. These were&amp;amp;nbsp;bought as mementos by Lance Corporal Pethick during his WW1 service and sent back home to Australia.&amp;amp;nbsp;His wife and daughter would have been delighted with the silk embroidered postcards and the embroidered or enclosed messages of endearment sent by him from overseas. The cards were treasured as mementos by the family and safely kept and later displayed in the framed format. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'''Description:''' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The collection of hand embroidered silk postcards has been arranged in a display and mounted in the framed format. The cards were styled in two ways and it was either the white embroidered silk mounted on a card with a carboard embossed frame or the featuring of two pieces of silk to form a pocket mounted on card within a frame.The thirteen embroidered cards have individual designs and there are a variety of messages to his wife and daughter. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum research notes&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3866204105,3866987500,3866987122,3866202429,3866985618,3866986092,3866985174&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=German_Wagon&amp;diff=4583</id>
		<title>German Wagon</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=German_Wagon&amp;diff=4583"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:17:05Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Business&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=Konzag's waggon&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=c.1870s&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place made=Most likely in the Barossa Valley&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Konzag farm at Roseworthy and then Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Agriculture. The German Wagon was drawn by a team of two horses on either side of a central pole and was used to transport produce to market and for use in general farming.&lt;br /&gt;
|Ceased use=c.1930s&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
Friedrich August Kunzag and wife Christiane emigrated from Werben, east of Berlin in Germany, to South Australia arriving at Port Adelaide in 1854. They lived at Hope Valley where three children were born and then moved to Mt Crawford in 1858 when their family increased with seven more children. It was during this period that the spelling of the surname changed to Konzag. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1870 they moved to Roseworthy where Friederich and his third son Friederich August Wilhelm farmed a property 1 1/2 miles west of Roseworthy. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It is believed that the German Wagon was purchased at this time as it was in use on the farm at Roseworthy. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The farmers used the wagon to transport their farm produce to market and for many other daily tasks around the farm. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1911 Friederich August Wilhelm Konzag, his wife Minna Louise and family of seven children relocated to Mallala and settled on Section 60 Hundred of Grace, on the eastern outskirts of the township of Mallala. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They brought with them all their house hold effects, farm machinery, horses, wagons and buggies includung the German Wagon. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
This was driven from Roseworthy to Mallala by the second eldest daughter Edith Louisa Ellen known as Ellen (who later married William Verner of Mallala). &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The wagon was loaded with goods and hanging from underneath the wagon was a cage filled with live poultry. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The German wagon was used on the Konzag farm at Mallala - possibly until the advent of a tractor in the early 1930s. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Friederich's youngest son Ernest (Ern) took over the management of the farm and he and his wife Doris lived in the farm house with their two children - Esme born 1929 and Bruce born in 1930. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The German Wagon remained unused in an old straw shed on the Konzag farm until 1997 when Bruce Konzag and son Richard donated it to the Mallala Museum. John Angas painted it in the traditional colour of blue with red wheels. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Description: &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The German Wagon was made of timber with sides that slightly sloped outwards. Vertical struts framed the sides which were lined with horizontal planks of timber. The tailgate was hinged and opened down for ease of loading. The wheels were made of timber with timber spokes and hubs and steel rims. The body of the wagon was originally painted in the traditional colour blue with the wheels painted red. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Information via an interview with Mr Bruce Konzag in 1997 and with Mrs Heather Konzag in 2009.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3851279883,3864475286,3863691597&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=East_Brothers_Elevator&amp;diff=4581</id>
		<title>East Brothers Elevator</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=East_Brothers_Elevator&amp;diff=4581"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:15:20Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Farming&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=East Bros and Coy Ltd Elevator&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=1950s&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place made=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Farrelly Road, Mallala, Hundred of Grace&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala  Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Loading grain bags and hay bales&lt;br /&gt;
|Ceased use=1970s&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
In the mid 1950s, A.A. Griffiths and son J.C. Griffiths of 'Pine Grove' Mallala purchased an All Purpose Elevator from East Bros manufacturing company of Mallala South Australia. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The elevator was used on their farm for three functions: &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
#Loading bagged grain from the paddock onto a truck &lt;br /&gt;
#Shifting bulk grain from the truck bin to the farm storage silos &lt;br /&gt;
#Loading small bales of hay from the paddock to truck and/or from truck to haystack&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The elevator worked efficiently but was heavy and cumbersome to manipulate. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the introduction of bulk grain facilities at Mallala in 1957 the elevator continued to be used at times on the farm, moving bagged oats for storage or sale and shifting seed grain into the mouseproof barn to store for the following year. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The elevator continued to be used infrequently on the farm as a hay elevator until J.C. and son A.J. Griffiths made the transition into making large round bales of hay and the production of small bales as a large scale operation was gradually phased out. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The East Bros Elevator is displayed at the Mallala Museum. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=East Workshops,Bag Filler&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=J. C. Griffiths&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3866445419,3867229148&lt;br /&gt;
|YouTubeID=Iwb4GmgZAHM,Lp4omrwNu-0&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Church_Pedal_Organ&amp;diff=4580</id>
		<title>Church Pedal Organ</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Church_Pedal_Organ&amp;diff=4580"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:13:04Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Personal&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=Pedal Organ&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=c.1890s&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place made=Esty Organ Co., Brattleboro, U.S.A.&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=The Woolsheds Methodist Church and later in the Wasleys Methodist/Uniting Church.&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Originally played in a home for the enjoyment of the occupants, it was later played each Sunday in the church to accompany the singing by members of the congregation.&lt;br /&gt;
|Ceased use=2004&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The beautiful ornate pedal organ had been a treasured possesion in the private home of Mr and Mrs W.H. George of Woolsheds, Section 677 Hundred of Mudla Wirra. In 1949 their daughter Mrs Blanche Hancock donated the organ to the Woolsheds Methodist Church which was situated near their home and 3 miles west of the township of Wasleys, South Australia. The organ was used weekly until the closure of the church in 1967 at which time it was donated to the Methodist Church in Wasleys. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Many years later the congregation of the Wasleys Church purchased an electronic organ, but the ornate pedal organ remained on display in the church and was played at infrequent intervals. Over the passage of time the electronic organ was deemed unworthy of further maintenance so once again the organists reverted to the faithful pedal organ. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Wasleys Church - now Uniting Church of Australia - closed its doors in 2004 and the congregation kindly donated the organ to the Mallala Museum. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The organ, which is in good working order, is a valued exhibit at the Mallala Museum. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'''Description:''' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The organ stands two metres tall and the ornate timber top is beautifully carved and sculptured and has a ledge for ornaments and two small inset mirrors. A compartment for music books is concealed by the stand that holds the music. A semicircular protrusion on either side of the ledge would have held a lamp. The lid pushes into a cavity to expose the keys made of ivory. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Bethesda Church,Foundation of Mallala Methodist Church,Bethesda Church Pedal Organ,Redbanks Wesleyan Methodist Church,St Malachys Catholic Church,St Paul's Anglican Church,St Peters Anglican Church,Grace Plains Bible Christian Chapel&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=A silver plaque on the organ acknowledges the donation from the George family to the Woolsheds Methodist Church.,Recent information from former members of the Wasleys Uniting Church Congregation.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3857963683,3857963259,3858754362,4795947544&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Camera,_WW1&amp;diff=4579</id>
		<title>Camera, WW1</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Camera,_WW1&amp;diff=4579"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:10:40Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Military&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=Vest Pocket Kodak Camera&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=1914&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Middle East&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Photographs of World War 1 in Middle East&lt;br /&gt;
|Ceased use=1918&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
The WW1 Camera is an exhibit in the Mallala Museum. It was marketed as the Popular Vest Pocket Kodak. The camera was donated by Driver David Moody No.16308, 3rd Australian Motor Transport Company, Australian Army. The Museum has no photographs taken by this camera. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Australia's Official War Correspondent Charles Bean captured the drama of combat through his journalistic skills and Australian readers were eager to know what was happening to their loved ones. The photographs sent back to families by soldiers and published by newspapers became another means to learn about these far away places where relatives lived and died. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The museum displays a collection of dramatic photographs taken by Trooper David Crighton, who served in the 9th Light Horse Regiment. The images displayed were photographed during his WW1 service in the Middle East. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Margaret Sands permitted the Museum to copy the photographs&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3839994388,4107483782,3855433612,3839205865&lt;br /&gt;
|YouTubeID=meyGUfcepyA&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Bethesda_Church_Pedal_Organ&amp;diff=4578</id>
		<title>Bethesda Church Pedal Organ</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Bethesda_Church_Pedal_Organ&amp;diff=4578"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:08:46Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Personal&lt;br /&gt;
|Also known as=The Kimball Pedal Organ&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place made=Chicago U.S.A.&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Bethesda Church Lewiston South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Current location=Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|Used in=Church worship and in a private home.&lt;br /&gt;
|Ceased use=1998&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Kimball Pedal Organ was used in the Bethesda Church Lewiston to accompany the singing of hymns and to provide additional music.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;Bethesda Church was built as a Bible Christian Chapel in 1855 and following Church union in 1900 it became a Methodist Church. There&amp;amp;nbsp;were several organists over the time including Mrs C Williams of Lewiston.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mrs Edward Weller (nee Pratt) &amp;amp;nbsp;was an organist at the time of the closure of the Bethesda Church in 1947, and she subsequently purchased the organ and used it for enjoyment in her private home. Eventually it passed into&amp;amp;nbsp;the possession of her daughter Mrs Maureen McColl of Quorn, South Australia who donated the organ to the Mallala Museum in 1998. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It is now a valued exhibit at the Mallala Museum. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Bethesda Church,Foundation of Mallala Methodist Church,Church Pedal Organ,Redbanks Wesleyan Methodist Church,St Malachys Catholic Church,St Paul's Anglican Church,St Peters Anglican Church,Grace Plains Bible Christian Chapel&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=&amp;quot;Life around the Light&amp;quot;. A History of the Mallala District Council Area.,Mallala Museum records.&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Bag_Filler&amp;diff=4577</id>
		<title>Bag Filler</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Bag_Filler&amp;diff=4577"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:06:57Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Thing&lt;br /&gt;
|Type of thing=Farming&lt;br /&gt;
|Date made or found=1901&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Place made=Adelaide, South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Place used=Hundred of Dublin, South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
The filled bag of grain (wheat or barley) was sewn across the top nearly to the second ear. The bag filler was inserted as far as possible into the bag of grain. The cylindrical hopper was filled with grain from an excess supply and the half lid clamped down. Using a pumping action with the bag filler, more grain would be forced into the bag and the sewing of the top completed. The overall aim was to supply tightly filled bags of grain that would stack uniformly. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Description: A bag filler was manufactured from thin steel piping with Simpson Pty Ltd being a supplier. The top was a cylindrical hopper tapering to the pipe which was 3 feet long with a diameter of 2 1/2 inches. The top of the cylinder had a hinged half lid which could be clipped down whilst the other half of the lid was fixed. The bag filler needed to be made of light weight material for ease of handling eg. light galvanised steel down piping. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A modified version of the bag filler was made by Simpson Pty Ltd for the use of younger persons. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
One such version was made for 11 year old Clem Pritchard of Windsor who was not strong enough to handle a full size bag filler. Clem left school at age 13 years and probably used the modified version until he was fully grown. Mr Clement Murray Pritchard enlisted in the Australian Army in World War 1 on 14 March 1916. He served with the 4th Field Ambulance and was Killed in Action in France on 21 October 1917. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum Research Notes&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3851216759,3851278269,3852017312&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{Memory|During harvest time there was always the unrelenting task of sewing up the bags of grain. When rain was forecast all members of the family were recruited to close up the bags so they could be put out of harms way. The tarpaulins could cover the bags if the weather was showery but heavy rain meant bags had to be quickly sewn and turned to prevent the damp grain from sprouting.&lt;br /&gt;
Many personnel who were shift workers in the district were keenly sought after and employed by farmers to go bag sewing.&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_Church&amp;diff=4576</id>
		<title>Windsor Church</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_Church&amp;diff=4576"/>
				<updated>2012-03-15T04:04:03Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Religious&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Windsor Methodist/Uniting Church&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Chapel Street&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Windsor South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.421920922164, 138.33271980286&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1873&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Windsor residents of the Primitve Methodist faith&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The foundation stone for&amp;amp;nbsp;the the Primitive Methodist Church Chapel was laid on 30th September 1873 by Sarah Ann Baker, daughter of George Emery Baker. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr Baker, founder of the township,&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;had generously given the land&amp;amp;nbsp;on which to erect the building. &amp;amp;nbsp;Prior to this time, church services and Sunday School lessons were held in the residences of Mr Francis Diment and Mr George Baker. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The new chapel was completed and officially opened on&amp;amp;nbsp;21st December 1873 with Reverend A.W. Wellington&amp;amp;nbsp;as the first minister.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the early years, tea meetings and anniversaries were held regularly, also lectures given on the Monday night following the anniversaries. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Church Union between the Wesleyans, Bible Christians and the Primitive Methodists occurred in 1900 and the Methodist Church was formed. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1910 Mr Cheney's tender of 80 pound 9 shillings and sixpence was accepted to add the front porch to the building. By 1923 inquiries were made re a gas lighting plant and in 1927 an&amp;amp;nbsp; additional light was installed over the rostrum. The Ladies Guild asked to have the boiler reconditioned and the trust agreed to pay the expenses. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A new cement block of toilets was erected in 1952 and some 26 years later the toilet block was modernised with the cost being shared by the church and nearby tennis club. A further upgrading occurred in 1983 with costs again shared &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1958 a letter was received from the District Council of Mallala requesting the permission of the Windsor Church Trust to close Chapel Street (between&amp;amp;nbsp;the church property and the tennis club property) and transfer the land to&amp;amp;nbsp;the Windsor Tennis Club.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Electricity was connected in 1961 two years after the first application was made. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A transportable room was purchased for the Sunday School and classes were moved from the back room of the church. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1967 the church at Dublin closed and services were held only at Windsor following a period of alternating between the two buildings. Renovations to the&amp;amp;nbsp;front of the Windsor Church and to the pulpit completly altered the appearance of the interior. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Sunday School classes continued through the years. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1978, the Protestant denominations of Methodist, Prebyterian and Congregational amalgamated and the Uniting Church of Australia was officially born. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ministers to 1985: Reverends Parkinson, Wellington, Edwards, Stephenson, Salmon, Finch, Dingle, Schafer, Mugford, Tresize, Rossiter, Rogers, Jennison, Keipert, Plowes, Ashman, Patrick, Dalton, Albury, Polkinghorne, Dawes, Bray, Stewart, Woodhouse, Saunders, Benn.&amp;amp;nbsp; 1985 - 2011: Reverends Doug Walladge, Lloyd Kerley, Flo Walters, Brian Polkinghorne, Brian Smith, John Watt, Geof Gratz, Pastor Grant Jewell.&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Mallala Methodist/Uniting Church,Foundation of Mallala Methodist Church,Grace Plains Bible Christian Chapel,Redbanks Methodist Church Hall,St Peters Anglican Church,St Malachys Catholic Church,Mallala Catholic Cemetery,St Paul's Anglican Church,Bethesda Church,Bethesda Church Pedal Organ,Feltwell Primitive Methodist Chapel,Feltwell Cemetery&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=&amp;quot;Life Around the Light&amp;quot; A history of the Mallala District Council Area. Published in 1985.,Mrs Gwen Secomb, Windsor S.A.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=6268173979,6268271752,6267754739,6268276752,6268175665&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_Shop&amp;diff=4574</id>
		<title>Windsor Shop</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_Shop&amp;diff=4574"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:58:20Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Business&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Windsor Store&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Old Pt Wakefield Rd&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Windsor S.A.&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.420717287967, 138.33220481873&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1884 Edward G Everett purchased the Windsor Shop and Post Office and possibly four generations of the family including Herbert A. Everett, H.H. Everett and C.H. Everett owned and operated the business&amp;amp;nbsp;until 1946.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr C.H. (Charlie) Everett installed the petrol bowsers at the front of the shop and built the shed so that he had a place to store the petrol in the 44 gallon drums. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
During 1946 William (Bill) Palamountain purchased the Windsor shop from C.H. Everett following his discharge from service in the Royal Australian Navy during World War Two.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1948 he married Kathleen Irish and together they ran the business at Windsor until 1965. They worked hard to create a thriving business and stocked most things required for daily living. As well as groceries, fruit and vegetables, milk and meat, they also carried hardware, boots and clothing. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Bill had a utility plus a trailor and&amp;amp;nbsp;he would go to Adelaide every week to collect the fruit and veg and the groceries. Bill had a delivery service of these items to householders in the district. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They managed the Post Office and also the telephone exchange which operated up to 10 pm each evening. All this while rearing a family of four children. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Bill had a carrying business&amp;amp;nbsp;using &amp;amp;nbsp;two trucks, and with the assistance of George Baker they delivered many services to the local farmers. Superphosphate and petrol in 44 gallon drums were just some of the items that&amp;amp;nbsp;they&amp;amp;nbsp;delivered. At times they would also take a load of sheep to the abbatoirs for&amp;amp;nbsp;a farmer. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1965&amp;amp;nbsp;Bill and Kath Palamountain&amp;amp;nbsp;sold the shop to R.M and S.M. Knox and relocated to Gawler. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''The &amp;quot;Life around the Light - History of the Mallala District Council Area&amp;quot; published in 1985, lists the following names as owners of the Post Office from 1877 to 1985.'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''William Temby, Francis Diment, William and sons James and Thomas Diment, Herbert Havelock Everett, Charles Herbert Everett, William John Palamountain, Robert Knox, Lancelot Wilby, George Hage, Barry Lee, Derek Seddon, Derek Bladen, Roy Poole, Arthur Walter, Peter Waye.'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mrs Kath Palamountain.,Government of South Australia State Records.,&amp;quot;Life around the Light&amp;quot; - A History of the Mallala District Council area.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4795323627,4795957170,4795325887,4795952422,4795954752,4795321407&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{Memory|Mrs Shirley Pritchard (nee Everett) recalls that her father Charlie Everett installed the petrol bowsers in the mid to late 1930s.}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_School_Welfare_Club&amp;diff=4573</id>
		<title>Windsor School Welfare Club</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_School_Welfare_Club&amp;diff=4573"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:56:22Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Community Service&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Windsor&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.422105743363, 138.3321672678&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1964&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Parents&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=School Fundraising&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
The inaugural meeting of the Windsor School Welfare Club was held 7 April 1964 with the following officers elected: Lois Doeke, president; Dorothy Baker, secretary. Meetings were to be held the first Tuesday in each month with a 2/- membership fee. All mothers of children at the school attended this meeting.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;Records show that strong support was given to the club with the teachers and children benefiting by the addition of equipment (eg duplicator, first aid kit, library books) and maintenance of library books, furniture and grounds.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;Fundraisers included trading tables, raffles, children's frolic, luncheons, film evenings, fashion parades, garden party.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;Members took advantage of all opportunities to learn more about current educational trends, road safety, first aid, and all subjects pertaining to their children's well-being. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Windsor School&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum Research Notes&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_School&amp;diff=4572</id>
		<title>Windsor School</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_School&amp;diff=4572"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:55:47Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Windsor&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.422106480967, 138.33221554756&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1878&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1971&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Community&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=School&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The first school teacher was Miss Julina Temby, a daughter of Mr W. Temby, the first storekeeper. She used a room of the verandah at the store as a school room. When the church was built and officially opened in December 1873, the school moved to the church and remained there until the public school was built. It opened in 1878 with eight pupils and Mrs Ambrose was the first teacher. She was followed by Miss Jenkin then Mr Ryder. In 1882 Miss Alice B. Hinde was appointed. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Other Teachers until closure in 1971 were: &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
1-1-1885: George Edwards &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
29-3-1891: Colin Chas Noak &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
4-6 1895: William Johanning &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
1-1-1896: Mary A. Holt &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
2-4-1899: Miriam B. Peters &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
1-7-1899: Jane Hill &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
14- 4-1902: Jessie Lonpon &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
14-9-1922: Alice Day &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
14-9-1922: Annie M. Lynch &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
9-4-1923: Alice Day &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
6-9-1924: Kath H. Samwell &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
17-1-1925: Elsie A. Whittington &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
29-1-1929: John Michael Kain &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
26-1-1932: Cyril E. Roberts &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
19-9-1951: J.T.Atkins &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
11-2-1958: M.M.Ruediger &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
9-2-1960: A.J.Millikan &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
5-2-1963: Elsie D. Snell &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
6-2-1967: Neil W. Dunstan &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
6-2-1971: Robert J. Beaton &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The enrolments in the first four years ranged from 8 pupils in 1878 to 5,4,8 and reached 15 pupils by 1882. There was a record high of 49 enrolments in 1885 and again in 1895. After 1912 the enrolments fluctuated between about 25 children to thirty five children, with some low years post World War Two. During the final three years of operating, the enrolments at Windsor School were once again down to 15 pupils. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The school had an active [[Windsor School Welfare Club|Welfare Club]]. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Following the closure of the Windsor School, the majority of the children were transported 19 km.&amp;amp;nbsp;by school bus to the Mallala School. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The photograph of the sundial is included in the article because it recognises the closure of the Windsor School. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The sundial is installed at the Mallala School with engravings to show the distance,the date of closure and the direction that the Windsor school was in relation to Mallala. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Windsor School Welfare Club,Barabba School,Dublin School,Establishment of Dublin School,Feltwell School,Grace Plains School,Korunye School,Lewiston School,Long Plains School,Lower Light School,Mallala School,New Two Wells School Opening,Port Gawler North (Two Wells) School,Redbanks School,Reeves Plains School,Stony Point School,Two Wells School,Wild Horse Plains School&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum Research Notes&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4011395358,3864147876,3864469790&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{Memory|I attended Windsor Primary School from 1952 until 1957. The teacher was Mr Jack Atkin. There were about twenty pupils and I was the only one in my class every year.}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_Church&amp;diff=4571</id>
		<title>Windsor Church</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Windsor_Church&amp;diff=4571"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:52:13Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Religious&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Windsor Methodist/Uniting Church&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Chapel Street&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Windsor South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.421920922164, 138.33271980286&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1873&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Windsor residents of the Primitve Methodist faith&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The foundation stone for&amp;amp;nbsp;the the Primitive Methodist Church Chapel was laid on 30th September 1873 by Sarah Ann Baker, daughter of George Emery Baker. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr Baker, founder of the township,&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;had generously given the land&amp;amp;nbsp;on which to erect the building. &amp;amp;nbsp;Prior to this time, church services and Sunday School lessons were held in the residences of Mr Francis Diment and Mr George Baker. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The new chapel was completed and officially opened on&amp;amp;nbsp;21st December 1873 with Reverend A.W. Wellington&amp;amp;nbsp;as the first minister.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the early years, tea meetings and anniversaries were held regularly, also lectures given on the Monday night following the anniversaries. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Church Union between the Wesleyans, Bible Christians and the Primitive Methodists occurred in 1900 and the Methodist Church was formed. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1910 Mr Cheney's tender of 80 pound 9 shillings and sixpence was accepted to add the front porch to the building. By 1923 inquiries were made re a gas lighting plant and in 1927 an&amp;amp;nbsp; additional light was installed over the rostrum. The Ladies Guild asked to have the boiler reconditioned and the trust agreed to pay the expenses. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A new cement block of toilets was erected in 1952 and some 26 years later the toilet block was modernised with the cost being shared by the church and nearby tennis club. A further upgrading occurred in 1983 with costs again shared &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1958 a letter was received from the District Council of Mallala requesting the permission of the Windsor Church Trust to close Chapel Street (between&amp;amp;nbsp;the church property and the tennis club property) and transfer the land to&amp;amp;nbsp;the Windsor Tennis Club.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Electricity was connected in 1961 two years after the first application was made. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A transportable room was purchased for the Sunday School and classes were moved from the back room of the church. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1967 the church at Dublin closed and services were held only at Windsor following a period of alternating between the two buildings. Renovations to the&amp;amp;nbsp;front of the Windsor Church and to the pulpit completly altered the appearance of the interior. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Sunday School classes continued through the years. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1978, the Protestant denominations of Methodist, Prebyterian and Congregational amalgamated and the Uniting Church of Australia was officially born. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ministers to 1985: Reverends Parkinson, Wellington, Edwards, Stephenson, Salmon, Finch, Dingle, Schafer, Mugford, Tresize, Rossiter, Rogers, Jennison, Keipert, Plowes, Ashman, Patrick, Dalton, Albury, Polkinghorne, Dawes, Bray, Stewart, Woodhouse, Saunders, Benn.&amp;amp;nbsp; 1985 - 2011: Reverends Doug Walladge, Lloyd Kerley, Flo Walters, Brian Polkinghorne, Brian Smith, John Watt, Geof Gratz, Pastor Grant Jewell. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Mallala Methodist/Uniting Church,Foundation of Mallala Methodist Church,Grace Plains Bible Christian Chapel,Redbanks Methodist Church Hall,St Peters Anglican Church,St Malachys Catholic Church,Mallala Catholic Cemetery,St Paul's Anglican Church,Bethesda Church,Bethesda Church Pedal Organ,Feltwell Primitive Methodist Chapel,Feltwell Cemetery&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=&amp;quot;Life Around the Light&amp;quot; A history of the Mallala District Council Area. Published in 1985.,Mrs Gwen Secomb, Windsor S.A.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=6268173979,6268271752,6267754739,6268276752,6268175665&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Wild_Horse_Plains_Tennis&amp;diff=4570</id>
		<title>Wild Horse Plains Tennis</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Wild_Horse_Plains_Tennis&amp;diff=4570"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:48:55Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Sporting&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&amp;lt;div&amp;gt;At Wild Horse Plains tennis began about 1922 and continued for a number of years with Mr W. Dunlop (a wheat buyer) their first captain.&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt;&amp;lt;div&amp;gt;&amp;amp;nbsp;A few years later under the captaincy of Walt Zanker they won their first and only tennis premiership. &amp;lt;/div&amp;gt;&amp;lt;div&amp;gt;It was soon after that, that insufficient players forced its closure. The tennis courts were of asphalt and situated on town allotment 20, next to the last shop.&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Wild_Horse_Plains_School&amp;diff=4569</id>
		<title>Wild Horse Plains School</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Wild_Horse_Plains_School&amp;diff=4569"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:48:04Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Wild Horse Plains&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.359999286475, 138.29294532537&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1882&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1938&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Education&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
With the influx of settlers and their young families during the 1870s it was obvious that education was a primary concern to all. After approaches to the Minister of Justice and Education the department saw fit to purchase the Wild Horse Plains town allotment 52 in January 1882 for the purpose of erecting a teacher's residence and classroom to accommodate 40 pupils. Within weeks a tender for the sum of £477/15/0 was accepted to erect the building which was completed on 6 September 1882 and opened in November the same year. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr A. A. Wickstead, who served the school for five years, was the first teacher. Initially 13 pupils attended. During the 56 years the school functioned, the attendance varied from daily average of 14 to 16 pupils and up to 31. At its height some 66 pupils attended in one year. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
With the lack of enrolments in 1888 it became a provisional school. This school, which also served Port Lorne, was under the watchful eye of the Dublin Board of Advice for many years. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
One of the highlights of the school calendar was the inter-school sports day held at Port Parham, the first held in 1886. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1938 due to a lack of pupils the department considered it was uneconomical to maintain the school. Subsequently it was closed and pupils at this time continued their education at Long Plains. At a later date that year the school was used as a residence by two former pupils, a Mr Walt Zanker and his wife Phyllis (nee Worsley), and has continued in private ownership. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Children are now educated mainly at Balaklava schools and taken there by bus. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{| cellspacing=&amp;quot;&amp;quot; cellpadding=&amp;quot;&amp;quot; border=&amp;quot;1&amp;quot; width:&amp;quot;=&amp;quot;&amp;quot; style=&amp;quot;&amp;quot; 1&amp;quot;&amp;quot;=&amp;quot;&amp;quot; 2&amp;quot;&amp;quot;=&amp;quot;&amp;quot;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Date Appointed&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Name&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp; &amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1882--1887&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Arthur Aitkin Wickstead&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1888--1890&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Leila Anne Jervis&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1891--Jan to March&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| John Charles Noack&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1891--1895&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Gertrude Emma Swannell&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1896-1898&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Carl August Christian Uhrlaub&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1899&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Alice Maud Anderson&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1899--Oct to Jan&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Lily Constance Anderson&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1900&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Fred Mullett&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1901--1904&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Edith Rose O'Reilly&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1902--March to July&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Ethel Margaret Purdie&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1903--1904&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Ethelwyn Maude Pascoe&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1904--April&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Frances Gertrude Armytage&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1905--1921&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Frederick Wilkins&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1922--1927&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
| Edna Beatrice Cosh&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| &lt;br /&gt;
| &lt;br /&gt;
|}&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Barabba School,Dublin School,Establishment of Dublin School,Feltwell School,Grace Plains School,Korunye School,Lewiston School,Long Plains School,Lower Light School,Mallala School,New Two Wells School Opening,Port Gawler North (Two Wells) School,Redbanks School,Reeves Plains School,Stony Point School,Two Wells School,Windsor School&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Data held at Mallala museum,University of SA web site&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Weatherills_Billiard_Saloon&amp;diff=4568</id>
		<title>Weatherills Billiard Saloon</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Weatherills_Billiard_Saloon&amp;diff=4568"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:43:57Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Business&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetNumber=5&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Wasleys&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.437725863268, 138.51045906544&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1933&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1941&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Arthur Weatherill&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Billiard Saloon&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
== Narrative &amp;lt;span style=&amp;quot;font-family: 'segoe ui', 'lucida grande', arial; color: rgb(68,68,68)&amp;quot; class=&amp;quot;Apple-style-span&amp;quot; /&amp;gt;&amp;amp;nbsp; ==&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;lt;span style=&amp;quot;font-family: 'segoe ui', 'lucida grande', arial; color: rgb(68,68,68)&amp;quot; class=&amp;quot;Apple-style-span&amp;quot;&amp;gt;&amp;lt;/span&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;lt;span style=&amp;quot;font-family: 'segoe ui', 'lucida grande', arial; color: rgb(68,68,68)&amp;quot; class=&amp;quot;Apple-style-span&amp;quot;&amp;gt;&amp;lt;div style=&amp;quot;padding-bottom: 0px; border-right-width: 0px; margin: 0px; padding-left: 0px; padding-right: 0px; font-family: inherit; border-top-width: 0px; border-bottom-width: 0px; font-size: 13px; vertical-align: baseline; border-left-width: 0px; padding-top: 0px&amp;quot;&amp;gt;.In 1933 Mr Arthur Weatherill&amp;amp;nbsp; managed&amp;amp;nbsp;a Billiard saloon adjoining the newly built Algar's Bakery shop at&amp;amp;nbsp;5 Wasleys road.&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt;The billiard saloon was demolished in 1941 so that&amp;amp;nbsp; a Tea Room could be built adjacent to the Bakery Shop..&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr Weatherill then moved to premises at 4 Adelaide Road and opererated a billiard saloon for&amp;amp;nbsp;several years.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;lt;/span&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;amp;nbsp;Related Articles &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
*[[Family Hotel / Cleveland House| ]]External Links &lt;br /&gt;
*&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells-Port_Gawler_Institute&amp;diff=4567</id>
		<title>Two Wells-Port Gawler Institute</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells-Port_Gawler_Institute&amp;diff=4567"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:43:34Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Community Service&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Two Wells Institute&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Old Port Wakefield Rd&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two Wells  South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.594028852227, 138.51427853107&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1862&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1984&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=A group of citizens of Two Wells&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=To circulate books and educate adults.&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
As the community began to develop around Two Wells, so the urge grew among the people to increase their knowledge. One way to do this in the growing community was to form&amp;amp;nbsp;and Institute Committee and join the Institutes Association in Adelaide,&amp;amp;nbsp; where boxes of books could be obtained for a month at a time.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
This Institutes Association had its beginnings in London in September 1835 when the South Australian Literary and Scientific Association was formed. Its aim was &amp;quot;''Cultivation and diffusion of knowledge throughout the proposed new colony&amp;quot; ''As a result of this a small library of 117 books was shipped to South Australia on the Tam O'Shanter.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A group of citizens of Two Wells&amp;amp;nbsp;called a meeting in 1862 and the Two Wells-Port Gawler Institute was born with Mr William McCord chairman and Mr H.P. Ashton secretary. In 1864 Sam Griggs was chairman and Alfred Gray secretary and these two gentlemen signed an agreement with the South Australian Institutes Association regarding the circulation of boxes of books. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The aim to educate was clearly kept in mind. Books were purchased where possible, private libraries donated, and the system of borrowing boxes of books adhered to.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Difficult times beset the community and in 1874 Mr Grigg wrote a letter suggesting &amp;quot;the officers should change and that might help the public apathy&amp;quot;.&amp;amp;nbsp;This might account for the letter received by the District Council from the Institute's Board asking them to take charge of the books and other property belonging to the Two Wells Institute.&amp;amp;nbsp; This had the desired effect and the District Council began negotiating with the Commissioner of Crown lands to grant them a piece of land next to the police barracks for the purpose of building a council building and an institute. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A public meeting was held in October 1876 and the following resolutions were carried: &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
1. That it is desirable to re-establish the Institute in Two Wells &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
2. That immediate steps be taken to raise subscriptions for the purpose of erecting a suitable building for an Institute. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
3.&amp;amp;nbsp; A committee consisting of Messrs John Cowan Jnr, James Cowan, L.C. Wells, T.Hastwell Jnr, Ina Kirkland, S. Cordon and Y.C. Fowler was appointed to carry out the resolutions. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The foundation stone was laid on 27 November 1877 by Thomas Cowan Esq M.P. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Two Wells Institute was formally opened on 18 November 1878 by Mr. W. Cavanagh M.P. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Mallala Institute,Two Wells Institute,Mallala Institute Projectors,Windsor Institute&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=&amp;quot;Life Around the Light&amp;quot; A History of the Mallala District Council Area.&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_School&amp;diff=4566</id>
		<title>Two Wells School</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_School&amp;diff=4566"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:42:30Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Gawler&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two Wells&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.59206033892, 138.51709485054&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1979&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Education&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The new Two Wells School was opened on November 2nd 1979 by the Minister of Education Mr. Harold Allison. Planning for the new school had been assisted by the parent commitee from the former Two Wells school, and the school council was involved in tendering for contracts involving the initial planting of 700 native trees around the perimeter of the new block and then the landscaping and water reticulation system for the ovals. The Principal at the time of the transfer from the old to the new school was Mr. Alan Young. During the eight years Mr Young was stationed at Two Wells, the school went from strength to strength and with the new buildings and changes in educational outlook a new era of education had begun. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mrs Christine Lidas joined the staff in 1979 and began also teaching Greek culture. From that time, staff members with migrant backgrounds have been teaching those cultures and languages where possible. Miss Kath Cannizzaro joined the staff in 1983. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Through the years the academic progress of students has been nurtured together with their sporting prowess. The school has for many years combined with neighbouring schools in competitive sports and encouraged physical fitness. some former students who have succeeded at sport include Raymond and Mark Prior, Central District league football; Wayne Prior, SA State cricket team and member of Packer cricketing organisation; Gary Sharpe and John Mihaljevic, State junior hockey (1978). &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On 8 June 1983 the Two Wells-Mallala &amp;amp;amp; Districts Community Library was formally opened at the school by Mrs Joyce Batty. The school council named the library building `The Alan Young Building' and invited Mr Young back to unveil the plaque commemorating the occasion. Recently the library has been relocated from the school grounds, to the former Two Wells Institute building. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Barabba School,Dublin School,Establishment of Dublin School,Feltwell School,Grace Plains School,Korunye School,Lewiston School,Long Plains School,Lower Light School,Mallala School,New Two Wells School Opening,Port Gawler North (Two Wells) School,Redbanks School,Reeves Plains School,Stony Point School,Wild Horse Plains School,Windsor School&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=5199783480&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Football_Club&amp;diff=4565</id>
		<title>Two Wells Football Club</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Football_Club&amp;diff=4565"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:39:36Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Sporting&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Old Pt Wakefield Rd&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two Wells South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.595244, 138.51645&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=playing sport&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
There is some evidence to suggest that the Two Wells Football Club was functioning in 1911 but early records were lost or burnt. As in other country towns it appears that football was played in the town as a social event well before 1911. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The earliest football ground was situated one kilometre south of the town on Windmill Road. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
There were two more different locations on which matches were played prior to suspension of play in 1939 at the start of World War Two. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Following the war the crown lease land was placed in the control of the District Council of Mallala to be used for recreational purposes. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
At that time, the area where the oval is now situated on Old Pt Wakefield Road, was a very unattractive site and included an old quarry into which much of the storm water from the main street drained. Mr Les Hart put forward a proposal that the area be developed for use as an oval and was supported by the Clerk of the District Council of Mallala Mr Andrew Driscoll. The original clubrooms were built by funds raised by the local people and the school children planted pines around the perimeter of the area to commemorate the official end of World War Two. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the years immediately following the war the Two Wells Club joined a reformed Lower North Association with the teams including Virginia, Smithfield, Salisbury, Roseworthy town and Gawler River. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
1951 Two Wells entered a team in the newly formed Gawler and District Football Association.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;Before the 1961 season a combined Two Wells-Virginia club joined&amp;amp;nbsp; the newly constituted Central Districts Football Association and stayed with them until the completion of the 1969 season. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1970 Two Wells- Virginia moved into the Adelaide PLains League fielding two senior and two junior teams.The other clubs competing in that year were Mallala, Long Plains United, Owen, Balaklava, Pt Wakefield, Hummocks United and Watchman. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1974, Two Wells - Virginia returned to the Gawler and District League. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1987 the Two Wells Club rejoined the Adelaide PLains League. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1989 a major clubroom upgrade commenced with extensions which doubled the existing area.. The oval was also upgraded and new turf laid which was supported by&amp;amp;nbsp;an underground watering system. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The new clubrooms were completed in 1990, and with the ability to serve meals after matches the club spirit improved. The oval lights were upgraded in 1999. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 2010 the Two Wells Football Club is very competitive in all grades. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'''''Please note: The above article taken from &amp;quot;Two Wells Then and Now&amp;quot; by Bet Williams is condensed. The complete article&amp;amp;nbsp;can be viewed in the above book at the Two Wells Library.''''' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Two Wells Netball Club,Mallala Football Club,Grace Plains Football Club&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=&amp;quot;Two Wells Then and Now&amp;quot; by Bet Williams (second edition) ,Information on the formation and early years of the Two Wells Football Club was written for &amp;quot;Two Wells Then and Now&amp;quot; by the Hon John Dawkins MLC.&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{Memory|A major expansion to the Two Wells Football Clubhouse is scheduled for 2011.}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Public_Library&amp;diff=4564</id>
		<title>Two Wells Public Library</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Public_Library&amp;diff=4564"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:38:13Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Community Service&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Two Wells Library&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Old Pt Wakefield Rd&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two Wells  South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.594012218775, 138.51430535316&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=2007&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=District Council of Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Library Services&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On 8 June 1983 the Two Wells-Mallala &amp;amp;amp; Districts Community Library was formally opened at the Two Wells School by Mrs Joyce Batty. The school council named the library building `The Alan Young Building' and invited Mr Young back to unveil the plaque commemorating the occasion.&amp;amp;nbsp;In 2007&amp;amp;nbsp;the library&amp;amp;nbsp;was relocated from the school grounds, to the former Two Wells Institute building. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The new Two Wells Public Library is sited within the historic Two Wells Institute where library services in the Two Wells-Pt Gawler region first began in 1878. The library is the result of the Community library&amp;amp;nbsp;at the Two Wells School disbanding. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The new library was officially opened in May 2007 and has become a valuable resource for the community, allowing improved public access to the renovated Two Wells Institute. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The library has community artworks on display. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The library has a variety of resources available including&amp;amp;nbsp;free use of two computers to access the internet. Membership is free. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Two Wells and District Family History Collection includes many resources which may be useful to researchers and is available on request. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The restored reading room is available for library patrons to use and for organizations to access for meetings. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Branch Libraries &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Two Wells Public Library is the main library for the&amp;amp;nbsp;service in the District Council of Mallala area, but small branch libraries operate in Mallala and Windsor. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Two Wells-Port Gawler Institute,Two Wells School,Two Wells Institute&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Netball_Club&amp;diff=4563</id>
		<title>Two Wells Netball Club</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Netball_Club&amp;diff=4563"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:37:24Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Sporting&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Two Wells Netball Club&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Old Port Wakefield Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two Wells  South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.596193677284, 138.51463794708&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=2-6-1937&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=A group of Interested persons&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=To form a Basketball (now Netball) Club&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A meeting was held on the 2nd June 1937 for the purpose of forming a ladies Basketball Club. Those present were: Audrey Wilson, Gertrude Applebee, Vera Elbourne, Joan Rowe, Joan Sandford, Nancy Mahon, Joyce Baker, Pat Higgins, Shirley King, Madge Beaton, Grace King, Valda Richards, Margaret Henwood and Ruby Applebee. The annual subsciption was set at two shillings and it was decided to adopt a green uniform with a white shirt. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The first president was Audrey Wilson with Gert Applebee as&amp;amp;nbsp;the secretary. They called themselves&amp;amp;nbsp;the &amp;quot;&amp;amp;nbsp;Woketi Basketball Club&amp;quot;&amp;amp;nbsp; and their motto was &amp;quot;Always Sport&amp;quot;.&amp;amp;nbsp; In 1950 they were accepted into the Gawler Association. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1956 they changed their uniform to a red and white box pleated uniform with a red and white check band, white girdle and shirt. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1960 the club left the Gawler Association and joined Central Districts with two teams. The following year the club entered four teams and won three premierships.&amp;amp;nbsp; By 1964 they had returned to play in the Gawler Association.&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;'''A big name change occured in 1972 when ladies Basketball was renamed Netball.''' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mrs Yolanda Cannizzaro was accepted onto the committee of the Gawler&amp;amp;nbsp; Districts Netball Association in 1978 and in 1981 was secretary of the Association as well as President of the Two Wells Club. She gave many years of dedicated service. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Netball matches&amp;amp;nbsp;were played at the Association courts in Gawler although the&amp;amp;nbsp;girls continued to practice under lights at Two Wells. The courts are on the North/western boundary of the Sporting Complex. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1989, some players formed a team in the Adelaide PLains Association and played in conjunction with the football programme. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 2010, Two Wells have teams playing in each grade of the Adelaide Plains Netball Association from A1 through to D1 . The netball and football teams continue to play at the same venue each week. The enthusiasm and&amp;amp;nbsp;energy of the players is boundless and the chance for the families to socialize is of immense importance in the country districts. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Two Wells Football Club,Mallala Netball Club&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=&amp;quot;Two Wells Then and Now&amp;quot; by Bet Williams (second edition)&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Melodrama_Group&amp;diff=4562</id>
		<title>Two Wells Melodrama Group</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Melodrama_Group&amp;diff=4562"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:36:31Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Community Service&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Concerts and musical productions have always been part of the life of Two Wells. A brass band performed late in the 19th century. Piano teachers were always in demand and elocution and singing a priority.&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
During World War Two, concerts were arranged to raise funds for the war effort. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Two Wells Melodrama Group holds one&amp;amp;nbsp;theatre production each year, with seven performances scheduled for&amp;amp;nbsp;May 2010.&amp;amp;nbsp; Founded by Les &amp;quot;Nig&amp;quot; and Bet Williams, the Group's first performance was over two nights in April 1982, at the old Two Wells Institute.&amp;amp;nbsp;Since 1985 all productions are held in the Two Wells Community Centre. Most productions since then have been locally produced and performers and production crew are also mainly local residents from the Two Wells and Lewiston areas.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;The Group&amp;amp;nbsp;received Mallala Council's Community Event of the Year award during Australia Day celebrations in 2002&amp;amp;nbsp; and in November 2009 received a SA&amp;amp;nbsp;Great Regional Award in the Arts Category for Barossa region. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Community_Centre&amp;diff=4561</id>
		<title>Two Wells Community Centre</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_Community_Centre&amp;diff=4561"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:35:23Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Community Service&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Two Wells Community Centre&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetNumber=Old Port Wakefield Road&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Old Port Wakefield Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two wells&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.597085674181, 138.51603269577&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'''' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A public meeting was called on the 9th November 1982 and a Building Committee was formed. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Dennis Pellizzari was on this committee. &amp;lt;br&amp;gt;A Finance committee was also &amp;amp;nbsp;formed and Dennis Pellizzari served on this committee and is still a member to this day. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Two Wells Community Centre was incorporated in 1983&amp;amp;nbsp; and by 1984 this building had practically being finished. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Leon Broster called&amp;amp;nbsp;for a formation of a Management Committee and on the 27th October the building&amp;amp;nbsp;was declared open.&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;The cost was $100,000.00 dollars and &amp;amp;nbsp;Mallala Council provided $45,000 dollars. We secured a loan of $50,000.00. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The finance committee then amalgamated with the&amp;amp;nbsp;Management&amp;amp;nbsp;committee. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Stony_Point_School&amp;diff=4560</id>
		<title>Stony Point School</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Stony_Point_School&amp;diff=4560"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:34:49Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Section 503 Hundred of Dublin&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.439829424198, 138.41734886169&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1876&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1906&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
[[Stony Point School|&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;]] &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;amp;nbsp;Mr. Clarrie (Jack) Judd, at the age of 95 years,retraced his experiences in relation to the Stony Point School.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
He attended the Stony Point School c.1900 and his first teacher was Miss Dyer and later he was taught by Miss Emslie &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The school building was made of Weatherboard, built off the ground and with a residence attached.Neither of the first two teachers lived in the house, but boarded at nearby farm houses and they rode their bicycles to and from school. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The one teacher school catered for children from Grade 1 through to Grade 7, and there were approximately 25 children attending. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The school building was not used as a church. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The pile of stones remaining on the property were from the tank stand, or rear addition. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Following the closure of the school, the building was purchased by Mr. H.E. Bartlett and later owned by Mr. Bridgeman – both of Mallala &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the newspaper &amp;quot;The Bunyip&amp;quot; 5th November 1880 an article titled '''''Mallala Oct 27'''''and attributed to'''''( from our own Correpondent )''''' says this about the Stony Point School. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;quot; We hear of complaints about the crowded state of the Government school at Stony Point.The building is a wooden one, built for about forty children, and there are about seventy attending. Some have to go in the porch when the others are writing in order to make room.&amp;quot; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On site is a limestone cairn which was erected as an initiative of the Mallala Museum Committee and assisted by a grant from the District Council of Mallala. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{| cellspacing=&amp;quot;1&amp;quot; cellpadding=&amp;quot;1&amp;quot; border=&amp;quot;1&amp;quot; style=&amp;quot;width: 418px; height: 310px;&amp;quot;&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| &amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp; Register of Teachers in Charge &lt;br /&gt;
| &amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp; Date of Taking Charge&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Josephine&amp;amp;nbsp; Holdsworth &lt;br /&gt;
| 1880&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Thomas John Price &lt;br /&gt;
| 1882&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Ellen Wynne &lt;br /&gt;
| 1st July 1882&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| John Thomas Angove &lt;br /&gt;
| 1884&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Henry Gordon Gibson &lt;br /&gt;
| 1885&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Alice Nairn &lt;br /&gt;
| 26th October 1885&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Mary Deodata Mitton &lt;br /&gt;
| 31st July 1892&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Elizabeth Ann Dyer &lt;br /&gt;
| 1st September 1895&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Alice Jayne Emslie &lt;br /&gt;
| 22nd July 1900&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Emily Louisa Turner &lt;br /&gt;
| 12th May 1901&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Evelyn Polkinghorne &lt;br /&gt;
| 28th June 1903&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| Laura Cowan &lt;br /&gt;
| 1905&lt;br /&gt;
|}&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Barabba School,Dublin School,Establishment of Dublin School,Feltwell School,Grace Plains School,Korunye School,Lewiston School,Long Plains School,Lower Light School,Mallala School,New Two Wells School Opening,Port Gawler North (Two Wells) School,Redbanks School,Reeves Plains School,Two Wells School,Wild Horse Plains School,Windsor School&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum files,University of South Australia Web Site&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4106718399,4107482642,4106717401,4796017916&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_and_District_Family_History_Group&amp;diff=4559</id>
		<title>Two Wells and District Family History Group</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Two_Wells_and_District_Family_History_Group&amp;diff=4559"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:31:17Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Community Service&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Two Wells and District Family History Group&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two Wells South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.595244, 138.51645&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1986&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Life Appreciation Library Group was formed in 1986&amp;amp;nbsp;as&amp;amp;nbsp;the result of a successful application for a grant from the SA Libraries Board.&amp;amp;nbsp; The aim of the group is to record the history of people buried in the Mallala District cemeteries, by way of headstones, profiles, eulogies, photographs and family history books. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Over the&amp;amp;nbsp;years many volunteers from the community have been involved in the work of the group,&amp;amp;nbsp;five of the original committee are still very involved&amp;amp;nbsp;in the group's activities.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The District Council of Mallala made available copies of the burial records and the cemetery plans so that we could accurately record and check that our work was correct.&amp;amp;nbsp; The first life appreciation profile was presented to the group in March 1989.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the early days, all of the data, which was recorded by hand from the headstones, was put on disk and hard copies produced.&amp;amp;nbsp; Finally, after checking, the records were professionally bound into book form for future reference, available to anyone preparing their own &amp;amp;nbsp;family history or for anyone interested in the history of the area. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Since then the collection has accumulated to well over 200 documents, profiles, eulogies, photos, books, copies of merit awards and certificates, as well as copies of family history books.&amp;amp;nbsp; These records are stored in the [[Two Wells Public Library|Two Wells Community Library]] and are available for reference only. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
We have now been overtaken by technology and people compiling their family history now rely mainly on the information available on internet, however, we still receive inquires from the public which must mean that our records are a valuable asset.&amp;amp;nbsp; We still record by hand all headstones in the cemeteries of the district council area, and are presently involved in placing cement crosses with plaques on all unmarked graves in the Two Wells Cemetery.&amp;amp;nbsp; Our financial status relies on the support of the District Council of Mallala by way of grants and donations from local organizations and families.&amp;amp;nbsp; The task of placing cement cross and plaques on unmarked graves is still continuing with already approximately 200 crosses erected. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Information about anyone buried in the Two Wells Cemetery can be obtained from the Two Wells Community Library and Mallala Council.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Two Wells Cemetery&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=St_Peters_Anglican_Church&amp;diff=4558</id>
		<title>St Peters Anglican Church</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=St_Peters_Anglican_Church&amp;diff=4558"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:26:26Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Religious&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Mallala Anglican Church&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Aerodrome Rd.&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.435256575084, 138.50957661867&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1884&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Anglican Community&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
St. Peters Anglican Church is located in Aerodrome Road, and was licensed in September 1884 by Bishop Kennion, second Bishop of Adelaide. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Rev W.F. Marshall was priest of the new mission district which included Dublin, Two Wells, Wild Horse Plains, Port Wakefield, Goyder and Balaklava. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
From retirement in Perth he made the following remarks: &amp;quot; Fifty miles on horseback on a Sunday with three to five services spread widely apart was nothing unusual in those days. Often the round trip was made without a solid meal until 9 pm.&amp;quot; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
St Peters is a tranquil and hallowed building and to tell the story of loyal members down the years one has only to read about the donors of the furnishings. The congregation declined over the years and the church was placed under direct control of the Adelaide Home Mission Society which provided the priest. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the year 2003, the congregation was assisted by a grant from the Ministry Development Council for the purpose of providing a priest. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 2009 the Mallala and Two Wells Anglican congregations combined for services which alternate weekly between the two towns. They are now a dedicated, progressive and supportive group. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Bethesda Church,Foundation of Mallala Methodist Church,Bethesda Church Pedal Organ,Church Pedal Organ,Redbanks Wesleyan Methodist Church,St Malachys Catholic Church,St Paul's Anglican Church,Feltwell Primitive Methodist Chapel,Grace Plains Bible Christian Chapel&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=&amp;quot;Life Around the Light&amp;quot; A History of the Mallala District Council.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4106718495,5187013986&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=St_Paul%27s_Anglican_Church&amp;diff=4557</id>
		<title>St Paul's Anglican Church</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=St_Paul%27s_Anglican_Church&amp;diff=4557"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:23:56Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Religious&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Two Wells Anglican Church, St Paul's Church of England&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Old Pt. Wakefield Rd.&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two Wells&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1879&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=A group of Church of England members&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On 19th February 1879, a number of enthusiastic members of the Church of England called a meeting at the Two Wells Court House to ascertain if regular services could be held in the town. The meeting was presided over by the Rev. Canon W.H. Coombs from Gawler. It was resolved that a Church of England service be held&amp;amp;nbsp;each Sunday&amp;amp;nbsp;in the township, to be conducted by one or more lay readers with monthly assistance as the Lord Bishop and the Synod might be able to supply. A committee was formed and a &amp;quot;list&amp;quot; opened for the purpose of receiving contributions to guarantee the expenses incurred in conducting Sunday services. Mr Robert Hoar wa appointed a lay reader and it was decided to contact the Institute Committee regarding terms for use of that building every Sunday for Divine Service. On the 7th March 1879, it was reported to the committee that an organ had been purchased at a cost of 32 pounds.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1907 the congregation was ready to build their own church. Mr H.E. Fuller's plan was approved on 8th May 1908. The successful tender was won by Messrs Letton &amp;amp;amp; Co of Mallala for $387 pound 10 shillings-without a vestry. The foundation stone was laid on 27th August 1908. More money had been raised and it was decided to include the building of the vestry. The total cost was 431 pounds. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On 25th January 1909, the Bishop of Adelaide declared the new church at Two Wells open for public worship and dedicated the building to God's service under the name of St. Paul's Church.&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;Some years earlier the Anglican Church at Virginia had closed and the Bishop of Adelaide, Right Rev Dr Thomas gave his consent for the furniture from this church to be used in St Paul's. The Venerable Archdeacon Brussel presented the brass altar cross. Most of the equipment and furniture is still being used.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 2009,&amp;amp;nbsp;Sunday&amp;amp;nbsp;services alternate between St Paul's Anglican Church at Two Wells and St. Peter's Anglican Church at Mallala.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Bethesda Church,Foundation of Mallala Methodist Church,Bethesda Church Pedal Organ,Church Pedal Organ,Redbanks Wesleyan Methodist Church,St Malachys Catholic Church,St Peters Anglican Church,Grace Plains Bible Christian Chapel,Dublin Christ Church&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources= *&amp;quot;Two Wells Then and Now&amp;quot;, second edition, by Bet Williams.&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=St_Johns_Ambulance&amp;diff=4556</id>
		<title>St Johns Ambulance</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=St_Johns_Ambulance&amp;diff=4556"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:22:31Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Community Service&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Railway&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Terrace&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.438491256262, 138.50960075855&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1962&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Local ambulance service&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
== ==&lt;br /&gt;
An inaugural first aid course in Mallala was run by Drs John and Jeannette Linn in 1962. This same year circulars were sent out to the residents of the Mallala area seeking interest in the formation of a local ambulance service. A meeting was held on 9 August&amp;amp;nbsp;1962, attended by 36 people, including Messrs Berry and Lewin from St Johns Ambulance Headquarters. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A committee was formed, and on 23 August 1962 the first training night was held in the RSL clubrooms. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In December that year, the first ambulance, a Holden Van was delivered, and this was housed in the Council yard. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1964, the Council gave a piece of land adjacent to the CFS station in Aerodrome Road for a St Johns Ambulance Centre. Constructed by voluntary labour, this first building was officially opened in February 1965. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Mallala service was formed into a St Johns Combined Division in February 1965, and a Cadet section was formed and attached to the adult Division. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
With the growth of the Division, a new Ambulance building was required, and in 1975 the new centre, with large training / meeting room and garage space for the ambulance, was built on land on the corner of Adelaide Road and Railway Terrace and opened by the Governor of South Australia, Sir Mark Oliphant. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1990 St Johns and the South Australia Ambulance Service became two separate entities, and members could choose to be a member of either organisation, or both. St Johns teach first aid to the community and do public duties, and the ambulance service mans the ambulance, and attends racetrack duties. SAAS members wear green uniforms which is the universal medical colour. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1996 Mallala was issued with another ambulance to cover racetrack duties and a second ambulance bay was constructed. Many people have been issued with 15-year long service medals, and then 5 yearly bars. Many other people, too numerous to mention, have made a significant contribution to St Johns and the Ambulance Service through their voluntary service &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Corner Adelaide Road &amp;amp; Railway Terrace,John and Jeanette Linn, Drs,Mallala Community Hospital,Mallala Private Hospital&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3832800871,3833594322&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=South_Australian_Country_Women%27s_Association_Mallala_Branch&amp;diff=4555</id>
		<title>South Australian Country Women's Association Mallala Branch</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=South_Australian_Country_Women%27s_Association_Mallala_Branch&amp;diff=4555"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:21:20Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Community Service&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Dublin Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.437495801576, 138.50802898407&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1946&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=The Women of Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;amp;nbsp;At the close of&amp;amp;nbsp;World War 2, having devoted much time and energy to the war effort, local women felt the need of a different role of service and companionship and discussed the possibility of the formation of a C.W.A. Branch. The Branch was formed in March 1946 and the first meeting was held in the old Church of Christ building&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;April 4 1946. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Foundation Officers being President - Mrs. M. Roberts, Vice President- Mrs W. Broster, Treasurer - Mrs. O. Pitt. Thirty&amp;amp;nbsp;ladies paid for Membership.&amp;amp;nbsp;Mrs. Steer formed the Handicraft group. The following year a building fund was established. Due to the polio epidemic in 1950 meetings were suspended&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;amp;nbsp;temporarily. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The following years saw a&amp;amp;nbsp;Branch Choir established, a pine tree planted in the school grounds to mark the 1954 Royal Tour and the awarding of the Burton Cup for Handicraft to Mallala for three successive years. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When the Mallala Institute renovations commenced in 1959&amp;amp;nbsp; a purpose built room for the C.W.A. was included in the planned&amp;amp;nbsp; work. The building fund had continued as a project and the amount of money saved in it had increased over the years and enabled the C.W.A.branch to finance such an asset. The room was officially opened by the State President, Mrs. T. A. Hunt-Cooke. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Many functions for fund raising were held over the years----Annual Debutante Balls, catering for weddings,&amp;amp;nbsp;Christmas Tree exhibitions and&amp;amp;nbsp;numerous other activities. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
At the 21st. Birthday Celebrations of the Mallala Branch of C.W.A. the Life Membership honour&amp;amp;nbsp; was conferred on Mrs. M. Roberts. It was in recognition&amp;amp;nbsp;of&amp;amp;nbsp;21 years&amp;amp;nbsp;of wonderful guidance as the President of the Mallala Branch. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;lt;span&amp;gt;Nine years later a storeroom and toilet facility were added to the building marking the 30th. anniversary of the Branch.&amp;amp;nbsp;The proceeds of a most successful Debutante Ball enabled the Mallala Branch Committee pay off the final amount owing on the rooms.&amp;lt;/span&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Several members attained positions at&amp;amp;nbsp;State and Divisional levels&amp;amp;nbsp;and Mrs. C. East visited the headquarters of the Women's Institute whilst inLondon,obtaining&amp;amp;nbsp;a&amp;amp;nbsp;link&amp;amp;nbsp;with an English W.I. group. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Mallala&amp;amp;nbsp;Choral Group received good reports at the Annual Choral Festivals held in the Adelaide&amp;amp;nbsp;Town Hall, while the Drama Group under the leadership of Mrs. Barbara Franks, performed&amp;amp;nbsp;regularly at Competitions held at the Arts Theatre and other venues, with great success.&amp;amp;nbsp;On the local scene many activities were enjoyed by members and visitors from other groups, especially Table Days, when branches within the Burton Group held their own exhibition of work . The programme typically began with items of music and drama, an address by the State President or her deputy and greetings from other visitors , followed by a delicious lunch.&amp;amp;nbsp;Floral shoulder sprays were presented to the visiting dignitaries and flowers and gifts to the judges of the handicraft and cookery items on show. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;lt;span&amp;gt;The Mallala C.W.A. Branch&amp;amp;nbsp;celebrated&amp;amp;nbsp; the 60th. Anniversary of&amp;amp;nbsp; their Branch in 2006 and continue to meet monthly at the rooms, providing fellowship and activities for country women.&amp;lt;/span&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Information collected from notes recorded&amp;amp;nbsp; by Mrs. Catherine East 1967-1974.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4795334967,4795267167,4795969078,4795965022,5201713134&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Seven_Stars_Hotel&amp;diff=4554</id>
		<title>Seven Stars Hotel</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Seven_Stars_Hotel&amp;diff=4554"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:20:12Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Business&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Redbanks&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.474576219667, 138.56250464916&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1865&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1903&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Charles Tilley&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Hotel&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Charles Tilley, a farmer from Pinkerton Plains, constructed the Seven Stars Hotel building from the local limestone and timber in 1865. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The hotel was located on Sec. 103, Hundred of Grace, on land leased from Edward Armand Wright. Wright, a prominent Adelaide land agent, had taken up the section in 1861. The terms of Tilley's lease was for 10 1/2 years, for £1,000, to be paid evenly each year with the right to purchase. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The hotel was situated north of the intersection on the Mallala-Gawler Road at Redbanks, a prominent spot on the road travelled by the bullock wagons on the way to and from the Burra copper mines.A billiard room was also licensed. The shearers working up north on the big pastoral stations often rode on the bullock drays. Transport was scarce and entertainment on stations unobtainable. Some of these shearers came only as far as the Seven Stars Hotel. They spent the weekend, and a week or month's wages, and were then ready to go back shearing again with the bullock drays returning to the Burra. The cardsharps and prostitutes from Adelaide would know when the shearers were coming and would be booked into the Seven Stars, waiting. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When his lease was concluded in 1872, Charles Tilley bought the property. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1880 E.R. Bucknall and F.S. Batting leased this property from Charles Tilley for five years. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Bucknall and Batting transferred the hotel under lease to Carl Heinrich Wilhelm Baum of Redbanks, a licensed victualler, and then in 1882 to Thomas Loller of Redbanks, a licensed victualler. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Loller family had a son, Harold, born at the hotel during this year. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Frank Richman Ayers and Harry Locket Ayers bought the property and rented it out until 1903 when James Hall became the owner. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The hotel was not licensed again to run a bar and billiard table, but it was a venue for social events and it was used for voting and as a hall. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Charlie Collins lived there. He was a scrub-clearer and later moved to Dublin. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
James Jamieson, a farmer and horse breeder, lived in this hotel as a home for a long time. He also took in boarders. James Jamieson died on 19 November 1906, and the building remained empty until 1908 when Bert Loller used it as a temporary home, while his new house was being built. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
James Hall, who had bought this property in 1903, later demolished the building, and in the 1920s used the timber and iron to build a mouse-proof barn. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
About 1958 the licence at the Seven Stars Hotel was transferred to the Shandon Hotel in Adelaide. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The jarrah dining table from the “Seven Stars Hotel” is the sole item that still remains of that significant place, and is on display in the Mallala Museum &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Seven Stars Hotel Building,Mallala Hotel&lt;br /&gt;
|External Links=Folder (Businesses) - Mallala Museum&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3852512906&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Reeves_Plains_Tennis&amp;diff=4553</id>
		<title>Reeves Plains Tennis</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Reeves_Plains_Tennis&amp;diff=4553"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:19:02Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Sporting&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.525717, 138.594752&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1912&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;lt;div&amp;gt;The Reeves Plains Club was formed in October 1912 and in the minutes of the first meeting a resolution was carried `that the rules of the old club be adopted.' This notation indicated that organised tennis had been played at Reeves Plains before that time.&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt; &amp;lt;div&amp;gt;Tennis was played at the farm of Mr Spencer Day (section 123 Hundred of Grace) before 1912. There were earth courts on the western side of the farmhouse beside a row of sugar gum trees. (Cricket was also played at this farm on a cement pitch situated between the farmhouse and road on the eastern boundary.)&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt; &amp;lt;div&amp;gt;In December 1914 a general meeting was held and it was decided to purchase land alongside the Reeves Plains Church and to be invested in trustees from members of the club. Early in 1915 the club went ahead and laid gravel courts before the land transaction was finalised. The club, however, went into recess from 1916-1918. In that time the owner of the land ploughed up the courts and used the gravel to fill the boggy places in his farmyard. The land purchase was completed in 1918, the original trustees being T W Day, S. Day, T Alexander, C. Alexander, E. Day, A. Jones and Hurtle Day.&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt; &amp;lt;div&amp;gt;The club played in the Adelaide Plains Tennis Association from 1920 to 1941 when it went into recess during the war years until 1945. Two concrete courts were put down in 1945 and a third in 1957. In 1962 the club entered two teams, one in Lower North Association and the other with Gawler River Association. This continued until 1966 when the club continued with only one team in the Gawler River Association.&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt; &amp;lt;div&amp;gt;In 1970 electricity and lights were connected, allowing practice to be held after work.&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt; &amp;lt;div&amp;gt;&amp;amp;nbsp;&amp;lt;/div&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Lewiston Tennis Club,Mallala Tennis Club,Reeves Plains Coursing,Reeves Plains School,Reeves PLains Primitive Methodist Church&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Reeves_Plains_Coursing&amp;diff=4552</id>
		<title>Reeves Plains Coursing</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Reeves_Plains_Coursing&amp;diff=4552"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:18:01Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Sporting&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Germanton Coursing, Red Banks Coursing&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Reeves Plains South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.525717, 138.594752&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1907&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Greyhound coursing was well in favour in the Redbanks district with the early settlers who may have brought their dogs with them on the ships. The first official cards that can be found were printed by the Bunyip Press, Gawler for the Germantown (Germanton) club in 1907. The 18 hounds listed with pedigrees and owners took two days to run off. The draw beforehand would have most probably taken place in Syd Fischer's barn. Mr W. Wasley was the chairman, Mr J. McCord secretary and Mr E. Good judge. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Reeves Plains club began in 1908 as the `Germanton Coursing Club.' The name was changed at a meeting held on 25 February 1910 to the `Reeves Plains Coursing Club.' The first meeting was run on 17 July 1908 and was to be a 32 dog stake - 24 nominations were received. The first chairman was Mr. W. Wasley of Korunye and the slipper for this meeting was Mr.J.T. Pratt of Korunye.Later In 1908 the Germanton coursing again had a 24 dog stake and needed two days to conduct the meeting. Mr J. H. Schneider was the president and Mr J. T Pratt was the slipper on both occasions and Mr S. C. Fischer's bitch Liberty won the stake and a prize. These Germans and friends enjoyed their-coursing and took part in all meetings about. The Germanton coursing was still active in 1914 and about this time Mr Kevin and Mr. Vin Hall declared all shooting on their property would be stopped, so that the hares would breed and stay on the property. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr.M.H.Richter was elected secretary and treasurer in 1911 and continued holding those offices until the winding up of the club in July 1965.The largest stakes run by the club were 96 dogs run during the mid 1940s. The `Waterloo Cup' was the most important event of the South Australian coursing calendar and was run by the club at Strathalbyn in 1943, 1944, 1945 and 1946, the highlight year being 1945 when his Excellency the Governor of South Australia attended the meeting. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The participants were engaged in the following activities. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Two dogs, one with a red collar and one with a white collar, were spring-released by a slipper walking when the hare had a start of about 15 yards; the judge was mounted on a good horse that could jump fences if required. The points according to the degree of superiority shown: the go by - two points or if gained on the outer circle, three points; the turn - one point; the wrench - half a point; the kill - two points or in a descending scale, in proportion to merit displayed in that kill; the trip - one point. The judge's duty wasn't an easy one as he had to tabulate the points mentally and hoist the appropriate flag at the conclusion of the course. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Reeves Plains Tennis,Reeves Plains School,Reeves PLains Primitive Methodist Church&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Redbanks_School&amp;diff=4551</id>
		<title>Redbanks School</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Redbanks_School&amp;diff=4551"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:16:54Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Germantown&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Redbanks&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.489650496155, 138.55828285217&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1879&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1937&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Education&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Redbanks Wesleyan Church was listed as opening a provisional school during 1879-1880. The land for the church was identified as Part Section 46 Hundred of Grace. It was documented on the 21st of December 1880 that the land was conveyed by Joseph Dix to the Minister Controlling Education. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1880 Redbanks was part of the Dublin School district, and no teachers' names or number of pupils were recorded until 1881, when Ada F. Langdon was listed. She taught until 1889. In 1891 the Board of Advice from Dublin recommended that the Redbanks school be closed. Mr Talbot and Mrs Matters pressured the Education Department into reopening the school and in September 1906 the Education Gazette reports Redbanks again as a new school. Miss McRae was the first teacher and the average attendance at school was 15 or 16 children. The school was made a class 9 in 1913, when Miss Rosalie K. Collins came as a teacher. She had a horse and buggy and boarded with Miss Bowler, the Korunye school teacher, in the Korunye school house. Miss Collins taught until the end of 1918 with an average of nearly 23 children, the largest attendance at Redbanks school. Lillian M. Adams taught 19 children in 1919. Redbanks School had a neat, well kept garden, each bed surrounded with stones. One lesson pepper trees were planted. The children who planted one each were Linda Wait, May Helps, Olga Leske, Bill Pritchard and Cyril Hall. These trees grew very slowly, as the ground is stony, but persisted, along with some native shrubs and some tall gums in tidy rows. In 1920 Miss Ellen Toole, a local girl, taught 18 children for five years. In 1937 the school was made a class 7 school and Miss Beatrice Higgins and Frank E. Fischer (a local teacher) shared the closing year. This building never opened as a school again. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Redbanks School Teachers &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{|&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1881-1888 &lt;br /&gt;
| Ada R Langdon &lt;br /&gt;
| 1920-1924 &lt;br /&gt;
| Ellen Toole, a local girl&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1889-1890 &lt;br /&gt;
| Harriette C. Ward &lt;br /&gt;
| 1925-1927 &lt;br /&gt;
| Edna M. Birchall&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1891 &lt;br /&gt;
| School closed &lt;br /&gt;
| 1928-1932 &lt;br /&gt;
| Mary Fennessy&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1906 &lt;br /&gt;
| School reopened &lt;br /&gt;
| 1933-1934 &lt;br /&gt;
| Gwyndoline M. James&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1906-1909 &lt;br /&gt;
| Miss McRae &lt;br /&gt;
| 1935-1936 &lt;br /&gt;
| Kenneth H. Pearce&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1910-1912 &lt;br /&gt;
| Pamela Tamblyn &lt;br /&gt;
| 1937 &lt;br /&gt;
| Beatrice C. Higgins&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1913-1918 &lt;br /&gt;
| Rosalie K. Collins &lt;br /&gt;
| 1937&amp;amp;nbsp; &lt;br /&gt;
| Frank E. Fischer&lt;br /&gt;
|-&lt;br /&gt;
| 1919 &lt;br /&gt;
| Lilliam M. Adams &lt;br /&gt;
| 1937 &lt;br /&gt;
| School closed&lt;br /&gt;
|}&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Barabba School,Dublin School,Establishment of Dublin School,Feltwell School,Grace Plains School,Korunye School,Lewiston School,Long Plains School,Lower Light School,Mallala School,New Two Wells School Opening,Port Gawler North (Two Wells) School,Reeves Plains School,Stony Point School,Two Wells School,Wild Horse Plains School,Windsor School&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum research notes&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=5061689499&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Redbanks_Post_Office&amp;diff=4550</id>
		<title>Redbanks Post Office</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Redbanks_Post_Office&amp;diff=4550"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:14:01Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Business&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Red Banks South Australia&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.474598, 138.562045&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1868&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Postal Services&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The site of the first Red Banks Post Office was on low lying flat ground near the ford crossing over the River Light. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
(It was upstream of where the bridge on Wasleys Road now crosses the River Light.) &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1863 the first recorded mail from this Post Office was dispatched. On the site in 1873 was the Post Office run in conjunction with a changing station for the coach/passenger service operated by Mr.&amp;amp;nbsp;Barnard Angus.&amp;amp;nbsp;This service operated&amp;amp;nbsp;between Mallala&amp;amp;nbsp;and the Wasleys Railway Station. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The name of the first post master is not recorded but the land was owned by Thomas Cowan M.P. of Red Banks. For many years Mr Coombs of Two Wells carried the letters on horseback twice a week, from the Red Banks Post Office to meet Hill &amp;amp;amp; Co's coach at Two Wells. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Steven Gale&amp;amp;nbsp;purchased part section 11, Hundred of Grace from Phillip Butler in 1873 but was renting this land earlier, using it as a&amp;amp;nbsp;blacksmith shop and post office. He is recorded as dispatching mail in November 1868. No record of payment&amp;amp;nbsp;is made, but it is noted that&amp;amp;nbsp;the letter post was now 3 times a week. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Steven Gale&amp;amp;nbsp;was the postmaster for 14&amp;amp;nbsp;years and would have managed the parcel post for the Angus bus and waiting station. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In early 1904, the Advertiser stated in part that ''&amp;quot;Mr Barnard Angus was the successful tenderer with the Postal Services to run a daily service with a vehicle from Wasleys to Mallala for the period 1st February 1904 until 31st December 1907 for the sum of 50 pounds&amp;quot;'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Eventually, due to the river floods, the post office was relocated to the township of Red Banks. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Historic Cairns&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum Research files ,&amp;quot;Life around the Light&amp;quot; A History of the Mallala District Council Area&amp;quot;&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Redbanks_Methodist_Church_Hall&amp;diff=4549</id>
		<title>Redbanks Methodist Church Hall</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Redbanks_Methodist_Church_Hall&amp;diff=4549"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:12:51Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Religious&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Red Banks Methodist Church&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetNumber=Lot 96&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Germantown Rd.&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Red Banks&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.4768334, 138.5618985&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1934&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1964&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=A group of people of Methodist faith.&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Church Services, Religious Education&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The first meeting in connection with building a Methodist Church at Red Banks was held in the home of Tom Hall in 1932. In July 1933 it was decided to accept the offer of a tract of land from H. H. Roberts in the Red Banks sub division for this purpose. &amp;lt;br&amp;gt;Those willing to become trustees were: Messrs J. Hall, A.H. Loller, H.A. Verner, W. Agnew, L.D. Jenkin, M.W. Roberts, and others invited were A.E. Wait and&amp;amp;nbsp;S. Agnew. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A tender of 274 pounds 19 shillings was accepted. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr T.H. Worden laid the foundation stone on Saturday 12 April 1934. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The president of the Methodist Conference Rev. J.C.Stone opened the Red Banks Church Hall on 29 July 1934. The new building cost 533 pounds 10 shillings but many gifts were received and the hall opened almost free of debt. Two hundred and seventy&amp;amp;nbsp;people signed the visitors book on the opening day. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
As well as a venue for Church services and Sunday School, the Church Hall was used for many social occasions including wedding breakfasts, parties, school breakups, dances, concerts and picture evenings. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
At a committee meeting in August 1964 it was agreed to close the Red Banks Church Hall. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Reeves PLains Primitive Methodist Church,Bethesda Church,Foundation of Mallala Methodist Church,Redbanks Wesleyan Methodist Church,Grace Plains Bible Christian Chapel&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=5165734533&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Railway_Services&amp;diff=4548</id>
		<title>Railway Services</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Railway_Services&amp;diff=4548"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:11:21Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.440078355478, 138.50802898407&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1917&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1983&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
The railways arrived in Mallala in 1917. The railway opening was a major step forward for the township of Mallala. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
For several years there was great competition between the agents for the ketches and the railway, eventually the railway took over the majority of the freight. For many years the line terminated at Long Plains until in 1923 an extension was built to Bowmans. At harvest time the railway yards were busy as bagged wheat and barley was stacked in mouse proofed compounds and later loaded by lumpers into rail trucks.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It provided a passenger service which included the transport of many secondary school children daily to Adelaide, where they attended Technical and High Schools, and Independent Church Schools. It also provided a commuter service for people employed in the city or near the stations along the route. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Transporting of freight, dispatching of mail, daily newspapers and grocery deliveries were an important part of the rail service.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt; &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr Colin Brooks was a clerk at the Mallala Railway Station from 1943 to 1948, and Station Master from 1960 to1981. He joined S.A.R. in 1938 and retired from A.N.R. in 1981. A marvellous service to the railways. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In a paper presented by Mr Brooks, he said: &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''In 1943 when I arrived at Mallala, the Mallala RAAF base provided much of the work for the railways. Each alternate Friday a leave train ran to Adelaide, and this train consisted of up to 16 side loading carriages and carried 500 to 700 personel. The return trip was made mid morning on Monday and the fare for the personnel was 2/4 (two shillings and fourpence) for a second class ticket. '' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 ''At that time there were three passenger trains a day, to and from Adelaide.'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''The early train taking commuters and school children was a rail car, and the other two were steam trains.'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''General freight was received from Mile End on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday on the local goods train which terminated at Snowtown. This returned late on the same days and carried our eggs, crates of live poultry, wool, sheep skins, empty kegs, and crates of bottles to Mile End and other more distant stations.'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''Goods arriving consisted of beer, wine and spirits for the Mallala Hotel 'and for the Officer's Mess at the aerodrome, steel for East Bros, corn sacks and wool packs, petrol and oil in 44 gallon drums. Groceries, vegetables, hessian wheat bags filled with potatoes, fruit packed in wooden boxes or crates, and icecream packed in canvas bags and surrounded with dry ice, were some of the items transported.'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''Chaff was sent to numerous places from Lindsay's chaff mill, and East Bros forwarded elevators, ploughs, other machinery and spare parts, to all areas of South Australia and Western Victoria.'' &lt;br /&gt;
 Prior to 1957, millions of tons of bagged wheat and barley had been transported from Korunye, ''L''ong Plains, Calomba and Mallala with all railway sidings controlled from the Mallala Station. Super phosphate was also transported by rail. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Eventually because of falling use of passenger and freight rail, the new operators A.N.A. decided to no longer accept local goods. This decision made the Mallala Station redundant, and it finally closed in 1983. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Grain is still carted from the Mallala silos to Port Adelaide. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Ghan and the Indian Pacific trains pass through Mallala, and numerous long freight trains pass through without stopping. With the completion of the Alice Springs to Darwin line at the end of 2003, there has been a significant increase in freight movement. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Railway Opening,Mallala Weighbridge,Grain Storage Facility&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3832699729,4795346003,3833493522,4817075424,4816454495&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_Post_Office&amp;diff=4547</id>
		<title>RAAF Post Office</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_Post_Office&amp;diff=4547"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:08:55Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Aerodrome&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.414698857086, 138.50541114807&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1941&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1946&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Postal Services at RAAF base, Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
On 23 October 1941 a Post Office was established at the RAAF No. 6 Service Flying Training School. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Mr F.A. Ford was appointed Postmaster and Mr H.I. Wordley as Postal Clerk. Full Postal and Telegraph services were supplied. Mails were conveyed between the Air Force Post Office and the Mallala Railway Station by a member of the RAAF. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Post Office closed on 23 May 1946 and alternate facilities were arranged. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
*Postal: Exchange of a free bag service, twice daily with the Mallala Post Office.&lt;br /&gt;
*Telephone: One of the two existing multi coin telephones was retained and relocated closer to the men’s quarters.&lt;br /&gt;
*Telegraph: The RAAF arranged for a 'dispatch rider' service. Telegrams were lodged at noon and 5pm daily.&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&amp;lt;br&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=RAAF 24 Squadron (City of Adelaide),RAAF No. 34 Squadron,Victory Day Flyover,Bristol freighter crash,Meteor aircraft explosion,Mallala Aerodrome,Feltwell Cemetery,Mallala (Butler) Station,Post Office opening,Mallala Postal Services&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum research notes&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{Memory|Mr. Ray Earl recollects working at the Mallala Post Office in 1940-1941. He says; &amp;quot;The R.A.A.F. Air force base was being built, and gradually more personnel were living there.  Prior to the opening of the post office at the RAAF Air force Base in October 1941, all the mail came through the Mallala P.O.  Mr. Jack Ryan was the Post Master and I was the only assistant. I would ride my bicycle (at that time on a dirt road) to the RAAF Base twice a day to deliver and collect telegrams, and to empty the coin operated telephones. The telegrams were then sent on to their destination by Morse code. It was a very busy time at the Mallala P.O. and I would push a two wheeled cart to the railway station to deliver and then collect the numerous bags of mail. Eventually the RAAF personnel delivered their own bags of mail to the railway station.  However with the additional families and workmen attached to the RAAF Base, the Mallala P.O. remained busy though out the war years and whilst the migrant camp was established at the Aerodrome.&amp;quot;}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_No._6_Service_Flight_Training_School&amp;diff=4546</id>
		<title>RAAF No. 6 Service Flight Training School</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_No._6_Service_Flight_Training_School&amp;diff=4546"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:05:56Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=No 6 SFTS, 6 SFTS Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetNumber=Section 262&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Hundred of Grace&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.415186247952, 138.50412368774&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1939&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1945&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF)&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Service Flight Training School&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1939 the Federal Government purchased a flat area of farming land 1 mile north of Mallala township on which to build an aerodrome suitable for training pilots. Jim East recalls the establishment of the aerodrome, and the day a long goods train arrived at the Mallala Station with many wagons carrying large earth moving and road making equipment, and items to build hangars and living quarters. Ray Earl remembers when a timber yard was established in the precinct of the railway yards to supply lengths of timber for construction work at the air base. Mallala was the largest RAAF base in South Australia, with 19 Bellman hangars at its peak. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1941, No. 6 Service Flying Training School was formed with a strength of 15 officers,&amp;amp;nbsp;four warrant-officers and 184 other ranks under the command of Wing Cdr R.N. Brearley DSO, MC, AFC. Accommodation for the Officers and their families was sought in the town and the surrounding district. This was a medium-proficiency school where aircrew who had already learned elementary flying at a base such as Parafield increased their experience before moving on to a specialist school such as Port Pirie or Mount Gambier. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The young men spent countless hours learning to take off, circle the airfield and then land. This procedure was repeated endlessly, until they moved on to navigational skills, followed by night time maneuvers. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When considered proficient in these basic skills the men were sent to other training bases for more complex tuition. By 1942 personnel numbered 1,927 including 285 trainees, who learned to fly Ansons, Oxfords, Moth Minors and Tiger Moths. The Mallala railway platform was lengthened to accommodate the increased number of carriages for the trains which carried the air force personnel on leave. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Local businessmen were able to supply goods and labour to the base. Of an evening the pies and pasties from [[Algar's Bakery Shop]] were hot favourites when sold at the main gates. Keith Reid supplied fresh fruit and vegetables to the base. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Many community events were attended by service personnel and their uniforms featured prominently at Sunday evening Methodist Church Services and Socials. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On Saturday night there were either balls or 'flicks' at the Institute, which offered a popular diversion from their barrack life. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A total of 2,257 trainees passed out before the unit ceased to function as No. 6 SFTS on 31 December 1945. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The base continued as an RAAF facility until 1960. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=RAAF No 6 SFTS - Dutch Pilots at Mallala,RAAF 24 Squadron (City of Adelaide),RAAF No. 34 Squadron,RAAF Post Office,Victory Day Flyover,Bristol freighter crash,Meteor aircraft explosion,Mallala Aerodrome,Feltwell Cemetery,Algar's Bakery Shop&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum research notes&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3842672764,3841882381,3842671356,3841983475,3841982865&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_No._34_Squadron&amp;diff=4545</id>
		<title>RAAF No. 34 Squadron</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_No._34_Squadron&amp;diff=4545"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T20:02:30Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=34th Squadron&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Aerodrome&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.414982087074, 138.50541114807&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1948&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1955&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF)&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=RAAF Transport&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
== ==&lt;br /&gt;
On 1 March 1948, the 34 Squadron was reformed at Mallala as 34 (Communications) Squadron, where it continued, as a VIP transport and reconnaissance Unit, principally in support of the various activities undertaken at the Woomera rocket range in South Australia, until it was disbanded on 28 October 1955. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The No 34 squadron was equipped with six C-47B Dakotas which were to be used on ferry or courier service between LRW Salisbury and Woomera Rocket Range. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Soon the Dakotas were replaced by Bristol freighters as the latter aircraft were easier to load, having huge doors that opened outwards in the nose, and also they were able to carry a more bulky type of cargo. For feeder service work, three Percival Prince aircraft were flown out from England. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
These as well as the freighters and two Ansons that were already there did not belong to the Air Force but to the Department of Supply. The airmen who worked on them were under Air Force discipline although they were controlled by the requirements of LRW. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Dakotas were likewise on loan from the Air Force to LRW. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Another job that No. 34 squadron had to do was that of air-sea rescue. Many times there were calls for assistance in the search for missing yachts in the Gulf. Also, aircraft were called upon to fly blood plasma to various isolated places in the state. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Ansons played yet another part for the Department of Supply, such as aerial survey and searching for uranium. This search covered areas near Port Lincoln and along the coast as well as various other locations. Unfortunately, the first Anson crashed near Port Lincoln, but the search for uranium was continued as soon as the other Anson was fitted out with the special instruments. The crashed plane was dismantled and brought back to Mallala on semi-trailers and later sold as scrap metal. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Although 34 Squadron had a good flying record they were not without mishap. Late in 1953, while on a training flight, a Bristol freighter crashed and burnt near Mallala, killing the crew of three. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In September 1955 a Meteor aircraft exploded, spreading pieces across a wide area near the town of Mallala. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The 34 (Communications) Squadron, Mallala, finally was disbanded in October 1955. Aircraft were then stationed at Edinburgh Airfield, Salisbury. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=RAAF No. 6 Service Flight Training School,RAAF 24 Squadron (City of Adelaide),RAAF Post Office,Victory Day Flyover,Bristol freighter crash,Meteor aircraft explosion,Mallala Aerodrome,Feltwell Cemetery&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum research notes&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3852667088,3851874495,3852665822&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{Memory|The image with the crowd at the Mallala Air Base shows the popularity of the Air Pageants which the 34th Squadron organized during the 1950s. Thousands of people came from all over Australia to see the various planes in action.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The personnel from the Squadron played a part in the local community. Several men played in the Mallala Football Team including the 1953 and l955 Premierships. Fl. Serg. Len Fosdike , who married a local girl, Shirley Pym, captained the team. Several other airmen married local girls including Don Ward (Elaine Jarmyn), Norm Waters (Beryl Earl), Lionel Bonning (June Williams).&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The R.A.A.F also entered football and cricket teams in the local competitions.&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_No_6_SFTS_-_Dutch_Pilots_at_Mallala&amp;diff=4544</id>
		<title>RAAF No 6 SFTS - Dutch Pilots at Mallala</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_No_6_SFTS_-_Dutch_Pilots_at_Mallala&amp;diff=4544"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T19:59:16Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Netherlands East Indies (NEI) Pilots at Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Aerodrome Rd.&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.413495118932, 138.50867271423&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1942&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1942&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|EstablishedBy=Aust Government&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Updating the skills of Dutch Pilots&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Many personnel&amp;amp;nbsp;evacuated from Netherlands East Indies (NEI) were destined for Air Force training. Those who had some level of training required refresher courses while others had to commence training from scratch. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Early in March 1942 Course 22 commenced elementary flying training at Parafield and this was comprised entirely of Army and Navy personnel from the Netherlands East Indies. During that month the flying discipline of these personnel was causing concern. In fact,&amp;amp;nbsp;all training of Netherlands East Indies personnel was abruptly terminated at Parafield on 27 March. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
''In evacuating personnel from the NEI, priority was given to aircrew, and particularly to pilots, the training of whom was both time-consuming and expensive. As a result of this policy, by late March 1942 there were more than 100 Dutch airmen in Australia, few of them with aircraft, but most seeking a means of striking back at the enemy.'' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'''''The records of the RAAF 6 SFTS at Mallala state that in March and April of 1942 there were 112 Dutch pilots at Mallala updating their piloting skills.'''''&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Prior to the Japanese invasion, the Dutch had ordered and paid for a squadron (18 aircraft) of US-built B-25 Mitchell medium bombers. The delivery of these aircraft to Australia offered the opportunity to quickly raise a bomber squadron equipped with modern front-line aircraft. This lead to the establishment of the No 18 (NEI) Squadron RAAF'''.'''&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=RAAF No. 6 Service Flight Training School,Adriaan Manschot&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4795313203&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_24_Squadron_(City_of_Adelaide)&amp;diff=4543</id>
		<title>RAAF 24 Squadron (City of Adelaide)</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=RAAF_24_Squadron_(City_of_Adelaide)&amp;diff=4543"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T19:58:28Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetNumber=Mallala Aerodrome&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Aerodrome Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.414407365076, 138.50691318512&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=C.M.F. training&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
== ==&lt;br /&gt;
The City of Adelaide 24 Squadron was stationed at Mallala post World War 2, alongside 34 Squadron. C.M.F. pilots were trained at week-ends flying the famous Mustang fighter.&amp;amp;nbsp; A pilot was killed when his Mustang crashed north-east of the Township. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=RAAF No. 6 Service Flight Training School,RAAF No 6 SFTS - Dutch Pilots at Mallala,RAAF No. 34 Squadron,RAAF Post Office,Victory Day Flyover,Bristol freighter crash,Bristol freighter crash,,Meteor aircraft explosion,Mallala Aerodrome,Feltwell Cemetery&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Port_Gawler_North_(Two_Wells)_School&amp;diff=4542</id>
		<title>Port Gawler North (Two Wells) School</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Port_Gawler_North_(Two_Wells)_School&amp;diff=4542"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T19:56:28Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Government&lt;br /&gt;
|AltName=Two Wells School&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetName=Old Port Wakefield&lt;br /&gt;
|StreetSuffix=Road&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Two Wells&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.593663356737, 138.51379573345&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1865&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|CeasedOperation=1979&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Education&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The first mention of a Government school in Two Wells is in the SA Government Gazette of 1863, where the Port Gawler North School is listed as one of 16 school houses in the course of erection. The school opened in 1865 with William Tupper as head teacher and 32 pupils in attendance. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The local newspapers reported in 1873 that efforts were being made to increase the school house accommodation and in July over £30 was collected at a meeting called to discuss the project. Later, in October a bazaar was held in Mr Warren's wheat store (now the grocery shop opposite the old school) and £64.15.0 was raised. The efforts were successful because the Education Gazette 1874 records that the Two Wells school house was enlarged. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The school buildings remained the property of the district council until 1876 when the Board of Education began negotiations to take them over. The district council was agreeable to this providing they received £45.10.0 reimbursement for the money they had recently spent on the new floor of the Lewiston School and the whitewashing of the three school houses at Lewiston, Two Wells and Reeves Plains. These negotiations were completed and the deeds handed to the Board of Education. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The earliest school register began 1 January 1878 when Mr Robert Hoar was appointed teacher in charge and he entered the names of students who were in attendance in 1877. Among those names on the first page are found Thomas, Alice and Robert West, William and John Secomb, James and Eva Manuel, Timothy Rowe, Albert and Frederick Day and James McCord, all names associated with the early settlers who worked hard to establish the Port Gawler district. Enrolments remained around 50 children and in 1908 the first junior teacher was appointed. The numbers of pupils fell in 1910 to below 40 until the closing of the Lewiston School in 1945 when it rose again to 47. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
During World War II slit trenches were dug for children, and the head teacher at the time, Mr R. Dent, noted in his report how the trenches could be occupied within one minute from the alert signal. Fortunately these were never needed. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
By 1950, 76 pupils were crowded into the school and accommodation was critical. A third teacher was appointed and a class was housed in the nearby old council chambers. In 1955 the enrolment reached 100 and two portable buildings were acquired. This made room for an all-pupose room and the beginning of the excellent school library. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
With an enrolment increase of 63% over nine years to 1959 and 39% of these children from migrant families predominantly from southern Europe, a new era was entered. The increase in numbers continued and by 1970 had reached 182 with 66% from migrant families. During the years of growth to 1978, 12 temporary classrooms were added to house the students and provide administration offices and staffroom. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Newsletters began to go out to parents in Greek, Italian and English and an ethnic library began. Mrs Jasmin Kapiris was also employed for a few hours per week to translate and liaise with parents. In 1970 the first clerical assistant, Mrs Bet Williams, was employed and this was followed in 1974 with the first teacher aide, Mrs Anna Canala and in 1977 a second teacher aide, Mrs Raelene Spurling. Mrs Pat Seccafien joined the staff as a library aide and Italian liaison in 1978 &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Other changes were also taking place and in 1976 the school became part of a pilot programme aimed at an awareness of the other cultures in our society. Greater involvement by parents was achieved through committees formed to discuss and implement education, ethnic affairs, playground equipment and planning for a new school. The growth continued and after 114 years of continual use the old site was vacated on 23 May 1979 for the new school on Gawler Road. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Barabba School,Dublin School,Establishment of Dublin School,Feltwell School,Grace Plains School,Korunye School,Lewiston School,Long Plains School,Lower Light School,Mallala School,New Two Wells School Opening,Redbanks School,Reeves Plains School,Stony Point School,Two Wells School,Wild Horse Plains School,Windsor School&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=4795338701&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	<entry>
		<id>https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Mallala_Tennis_Club&amp;diff=4541</id>
		<title>Mallala Tennis Club</title>
		<link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://nowandthen.org.au/w/index.php?title=Mallala_Tennis_Club&amp;diff=4541"/>
				<updated>2012-03-14T19:53:29Z</updated>
		
		<summary type="html">&lt;p&gt;Page upgrade: &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;hr /&gt;
&lt;div&gt;{{Organisation&lt;br /&gt;
|SubCategory=Sporting&lt;br /&gt;
|Locality=Mallala Oval&lt;br /&gt;
|Geocoordinates=-34.438256772448, 138.51298570633&lt;br /&gt;
|DateEstablished=1905&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate=No&lt;br /&gt;
|Date approximate2=No&lt;br /&gt;
|BusinessPurpose=Tennis Club&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
==  ==&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The origins of the Mallala tennis club are rather obscure, but the earliest available records from April 1905 suggest that it had already been established for some time and had accumulated a debt which it could not pay. There was a proposal that a concert be held to raise funds to 'liquidate the debt'. An amendment suggested that a levy be imposed and the club wound up! Fortunately the club survived, thanks to the proceeds of the concert held in June 1905. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It appears that the club had the 'loan' of a court from Mr East. There is also reference in 1905 to 'putting the courts in order', but further minutes refer to a single court which was probably the one next to the Institute. In June 1908, Mr Griffiths was appointed as delegate to the 'Committee of the People's Park' which occupied the area opposite the Institute and now taken up by the railway line. In April 1910, it was decided that the club be `reconstituted' and that Mr Griffiths meet the Park Committee concerning the laying down of two asphalt courts. Mr Cheney and Mr East promised to provide a turnstile for the entrance to the new court area, and Mr East would provide a 'better attachment for winding up the net.' Various negotiations and proposals ensued through 1910 and 1911 regarding the new courts and it appears that two earthen courts were eventually laid with council assistance in 1912. World War I had its effect in 1915, and there were no minutes from December of that year until January 1919 when a minute refers to a decision to approach council to have two new courts put down at the present park site, since the previous park area had presumably been lost to progress by the appearance of the railway in 1916. Children were not welcome in the club. In January 1920 it was agreed that no one under the age of 14 be allowed to be a member (but 25 years later, after World War II, it was resolved that children be given the same rights as other members). A 'pavilion' was planned and erected in 1922-23 and Mr Arthur Marshman was asked to officially open it at the beginning of the 1923 season. In that year the club joined the Adelaide Plains Association until 1933 when it entered two teams in the Lower North Association. The pavilion survived with many alterations until 1953 when it was replaced with a new clubhouse at a cost of C35. In 1979 the decision was made to demolish the clubhouse and existing courts and to lay a base large enough for four asphalt courts. John Griffiths and volunteers built a new Clubhouse from Besser brick backing it onto Wasleys Road. Although the courts have since been upgraded, the layout remains the same in this year 2009. A club competition for juniors began in 1957 with four teams competing for a club shield donated by Curnow's Garage. This competition eventually developed into a junior association in 1968 and survives to the present day as the Lower North Junior Tennis Association. This encouraging introduction to the sport has been the starting point for a large number of children over many years. Much of the credit for the founding of the junior competition must go to Mr L.O. Tucker and his son Mr Ron Tucker. Mr Ron Tucker was also club secretary for an amazing 25 years from 1952 to 1976. The club has been at the centre of the district's social and sporting life since the beginning of the twentieth century, and remains an important part of the overall sporting activities of the area. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
{{Info&lt;br /&gt;
|Related Articles=Lewiston Tennis Club,Reeves Plains Tennis&lt;br /&gt;
|Sources=Mallala Museum research folder - Mallala Sport ,''Life around the Light: A history of the Mallala District Council area'', compiled by Two Wells, Mallala and District History Book Committee, Community Development Board of the Council District of Mallala, [Mallala, S. Aust.], 1985.&lt;br /&gt;
|FlickrID=3835122333,3835062263&lt;br /&gt;
}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryHeader}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{Memory|Many people will remember the three day tennis tournament held immediately following Christmas with Laurie and Ron Tucker being the main organizers with assistance from other members. It was a wonderful time of fun and friendship as well as competitive tennis. People came from all around the district and from Adelaide and returned year after year. The tournament was most popular during the 1950s.}}&lt;br /&gt;
{{MemoryFooter}}&lt;/div&gt;</summary>
		<author><name>Page upgrade</name></author>	</entry>

	</feed>